rejetto forum

Software => &RQ => Topic started by: Slavik on March 25, 2003, 10:57:11 PM

Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Slavik on March 25, 2003, 10:57:11 PM
The problem has appeared suddenly:

When I try to connect the &RQ (choose "Online" status) it gives me the Error (Cannot connect).

I tried to "reinstall", looked through some clear settings -- al in vane.

Maybe you know the possible reason? I use Win 2000, of which I have administrator rights.

Thanx in advance! I need to reactivate &RQ at home badly.
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: rejetto on March 27, 2003, 12:25:52 PM
are you able to open a tcp connection with the login-server ?

to test it, you can
Code: [Select]
telnet login.icq.com 5190if it stays open for 10 seconds with a black screen and few strange characters, then you can.

otherwise you may have network problems
Title: Another way
Post by: Gracer on March 27, 2003, 02:53:18 PM
Try to change port value in "Connection" section from 5190 to 443 and reconnect. Also check out whether other connection settings set properly.
Title: Ho ve...
Post by: Slavik on March 27, 2003, 11:16:31 PM
Quote from: "rejetto"
are you able to open a tcp connection with the login-server ?

to test it, you can
Code: [Select]
telnet login.icq.com 5190if it stays open for 10 seconds with a black screen and few strange characters, then you can.

otherwise you may have network problems

So, I have them. What should I do? Changing to 400 or whatever port doesn't help. What's the matter with my computer or my provider?.. I need ICQ at home.  :roll:
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: rejetto on March 28, 2003, 01:28:03 AM
does http://go.icq.com work?
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Slavik on March 29, 2003, 10:09:02 PM
Quote from: "rejetto"
does http://go.icq.com work?

Strange, but it doesn't even start to load. Even when I click the link to make it work.

Well, folks, just tell me, what to reinstall now... The browser or the Windows? What's the matter? I've never have had such a problem before, though I used lots of PCs...

 :cry:
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Anonymous on March 29, 2003, 10:36:27 PM
Quote from: "Slavik"
Quote from: "rejetto"
does http://go.icq.com work?

Strange, but it doesn't even start to load. Even when I click the link to make it work.

Well, folks, just tell me, what to reinstall now... The browser or the Windows? What's the matter? I've never have had such a problem before, though I used lots of PCs...

 :cry:

I think You are behind a Firewall.

This PC is at home, at work, or what?
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Gracer on March 30, 2003, 01:38:03 PM
[list=1]
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Slavik on March 30, 2003, 07:25:47 PM
Quote from: "Gracer"
[list=1]
  • Have you any firewall installed on your PC?
  • What type of connection do you have? (modem or network adapter)
  • Did you check up settings in "Control panel"->"Network and Dial-up Connections"?
  • [/list:o]
ZoneAlarm is installed, but not activated now. I don't believe it's a firewall.
I connect via modem, dial-up.
What can be there in the Dial-Up Connections? I looked into, but found nothing particular. And the WWW is here! The problem is about:
some banners (they do not appear), ICQ, FTP.

The ISP's technical service doesn't respond. Should I check other provider for an hour?
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Anonymous on March 31, 2003, 06:33:26 AM
Quote from: "Slavik"
Quote from: "Gracer"
[list=1]
  • Have you any firewall installed on your PC?
  • What type of connection do you have? (modem or network adapter)
  • Did you check up settings in "Control panel"->"Network and Dial-up Connections"?
  • [/list:o]
ZoneAlarm is installed, but not activated now. I don't believe it's a firewall.
I connect via modem, dial-up.
What can be there in the Dial-Up Connections? I looked into, but found nothing particular. And the WWW is here! The problem is about:
some banners (they do not appear), ICQ, FTP.

The ISP's technical service doesn't respond. Should I check other provider for an hour?

Well... it seems your problem is not &RQ!

So... there is no reason for posting messages about this specific problem in this forum  :D

This Forum is just about &RQ, I think...
And your problem goes beyond &RQ!   ;)

Looks like this is the end of the thread (IMHO)  :?:
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Gracer on March 31, 2003, 07:39:52 AM
2Guest
Yes, you're right it SEEMS but are you sure?
2Slavik
I think the simplest way to check it out is just to try another provider.

P.S. Admin can move this topic to another forum.
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: rejetto on March 31, 2003, 01:48:50 PM
you can continue this discussion here while you like it
Title: Hach...
Post by: BruteHost on April 04, 2003, 10:18:05 AM
Quote from: "Slavik"

ZoneAlarm is installed, but not activated now. I don't believe it's a firewall.

I think the problem is in your ZoneAlarm.
A long time ago I'd installed this firewall on Win2000 and all my incoming packets from network were blocked. And even when firewall was disabled. :twisted:

Try to uninstall ZoneAlarm. Maby it helps you!?! ;)
Title: Thanx
Post by: Slavik on April 15, 2003, 01:04:29 PM
To All:

The problem was that ZoneAlarm. It functioned, even when it were not explicetely loaded. I killed the ZoneAlarm. Now everything works as it used to.

Thank you all, kind folks, for your participation and patience (Gracer, first of all). Thank you, BruteHost, for the reply -- though I didn't use it. :) Thank God for the idea of removing ZoneAlarm. I've been ready to reinstall the whole Windows -- but something stopped me (laziness?).

No everything's all right. 162724697.
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Lil on June 18, 2003, 12:05:50 PM
hey guys i can't log in too, i tried to change ports, used my proxy, nothing helps :cry:  what to do, :?: i don' know :(
Title: Cannot connect [0]
Post by: Electron on June 18, 2003, 05:57:44 PM
Everything works FINE !!! Thanx a lot, Rejetto, for adding proxy support!