Author Topic: Out of Memory  (Read 16996 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2011, 08:31:23 PM »
ehhh ??
dont understand.

events scripts.
hit ALT+F6 and see if your file is empty :)

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2011, 08:35:58 PM »
@FTNCmedia
so many things and features are involved in your service through HFS.
My advice is to try to remove (or turn off) one piece at time.
Then you give it enough time to run through your test, and luckily you will find where's the hassle.
Just as a first try, you may want to disable the "archivable" for the whole server. If you didn't touch this flag yet, then remove it from home/root will make it.

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #17 on: October 28, 2011, 02:59:46 PM »
events scripts.
hit ALT+F6 and see if your file is empty :)
no there is nothing there.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2011, 06:29:32 PM »
1. please consider my propositions about "show memory usage"
2. Is it increasing even when no one is accessing the server?

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2011, 06:42:10 PM »
i have windows xp (with all updates)
yes its using more and more memory all the time.
even if there is noone accessing the server.

1. using that.
2. yes.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #20 on: November 02, 2011, 08:14:50 PM »
so, when you say it's increasing without any access, are you referring to the number shown in the HFS' statusbar, or in task manager?

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #21 on: November 03, 2011, 04:56:19 PM »
so, when you say it's increasing without any access, are you referring to the number shown in the HFS' statusbar, or in task manager?
both.

tested with some old versions to.
on 265 there is no problem.
279 , 275 have this problem for me.
the increase in memory usage is slow when no one is on the server.
is there a idle connection the increase memory usage goes up faster.
and when he goes away the memory usage stays at that level.

Offline r][m

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #22 on: November 04, 2011, 05:47:05 AM »
Just my 2 cents, but I did a bit of testing here on 279 running on
Wine / Ubuntu, and I'm on my lan which is like downloading and
uploading to myself at the same time, but...
I notice my memory usage according to HFS goes up by an unbelievable
amount and stays after the test is finished. My system monitor doesn't
show that, nor does the swap file. Only thing it shows is CPU usage goes up,
then drops back.
What is interesting, is when I exit the folder I downloaded from, memory
displayed by HFS drops back to normal?

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #23 on: November 04, 2011, 02:26:45 PM »
on 265 there is no problem. 279 , 275 have this problem for me.

it would be wonderful if you could narrow the range.

I tried starting HFS but cannot see any memory increment, so it must be something with your settings. Please try menu>debug>temporarily reset options
and see if the problem disappear.


Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2011, 08:59:50 AM »
yes the problem goes away.  :)

when using the orginal hfs template the users is removed from idle.
therefor no increase in ram usage.
i use a RAWR 0,13 template.(modyfied) same thing happends with a orginal RAWR 0,13 template.
when using the rawr template the users still stayes in idle mode , and memory goes up.

tested on 279.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2011, 10:41:37 PM »
ok, it's something with the rawr template. This doesn't mean you have to give up with it.
It's likely to be the template triggering a bug in HFS, but potentially it could even be bad coding in the template itself.
I installed the template and made some tests. I found out that by changing language=auto in language=zz the problem disappears.
It must be something to do with language file loading.
I have to stop now, please continue you investigating and let me know something new.

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #26 on: September 25, 2012, 03:02:11 PM »
happend again.
i have a new server now.
running windows 2003 server on it.
4 gig ram.
2 dualcore cpu 2000Mhz


i get "out of memory" error.
hfs crashes , and the computer as well.
and my .hfs file is deleted. :(

the server had been up and running for 30 days +.
there was no traffic to the server at the time it happend.
there was traffic about 4-5 min before it happend.


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12903
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #27 on: January 05, 2013, 02:29:34 PM »
you may want to make an automatic restart of HFS every 7 days.

my first idea is a batch file with something like
Code: [Select]
:restart
hfs
goto restart

and an event like
Code: [Select]
[every 7 days]
{.exec|hfs -q.}