Author Topic: Out of Memory  (Read 15557 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« on: October 16, 2011, 10:00:38 PM »
Hi All,

I am using the 275 build to run a media server. After a fresh new install of Windows 7 Ultimate, 8GB RAM, HFS 2.3 #275, and 48hrs of running I received the error " Out of Memory". I have had 200,000 Total Hits, 1800 downloads, and 800GB out. Is it just too busy? Is there a way to increase the memory used?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 10:55:41 PM by FTNCmedia »

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12837
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 05:59:34 AM »
1. how many times did it happen?
2. check how much memory is actually HFS using on the task manager
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 07:41:53 AM »
Thank you for getting back to me so fast Rejetto...

1. how many times did it happen?
twice in a 12 hr period
2. check how much memory is actually HFS using on the task manager
232,000K!
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it
(I did the debug>show mem...so now what is the magic 'crash' number that I should be worried about?)

Thx again. Other than this issue, this program is great and easy to use. I love it and I had tried about 10 different programs trying to mimic what you have done here and no one comes close! :)

Also, I found out if you want certain things to not run in the background like .Net compilers and such , loop a song over and over on mute (if you want) and that will keep the idle services from running and taking up 90-100% of the CPU. I am sure you already knew this but thought it may be helpful for others to read. Thx again! 
« Last Edit: October 17, 2011, 07:51:05 AM by FTNCmedia »

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 11:29:27 AM »
i got this "out of memory" to many times.
is your .vfs (file systemfile) file removed when this happend?
or does this only happend to me?

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 11:39:51 AM »
@Crazyboris

no my .VFS was still there and loaded fine after I received the "out of memory" notice. Since the last post, I restarted my server and reset the memory back down to normal. It has ran like 2 hrs or so and it is back up to 160,000K. Do you know what number your crashed at?

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12837
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2011, 06:53:20 AM »
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it
(I did the debug>show mem...so now what is the magic 'crash' number that I should be worried about?)

i don't know that, but now you can make an idea on what events make the ram usage higher.
In case, please report here.
also let me know if this turns out in a recurrent problem.

Quote
Thx again. Other than this issue, this program is great and easy to use. I love it and I had tried about 10 different programs trying to mimic what you have done here and no one comes close! :)

i blush

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2011, 09:14:16 AM »
Ok i guess the real question here is should the memory used just keep climbing "out of control"? I mean even after some of the users log off, the numbers still keep climbing until eventually it runs out of memory. Also, is the memory RAM? ( i know that sounds like a stupid question but I have 16GB of RAM...please tell me that is enough! :o ) Is this condition called a memory leak that I have seen posted on the forum in many places? Thx again for your time. I know you are busy.

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2011, 10:51:11 AM »
yepp it does the same for me.
it just uses more and more memory.
so there is a memory leak in the program.

in last 3-4 min memory usage has gone up by 1.5mb (build 279)

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2011, 02:12:27 PM »
when hfs has taken up alot of memory you can minimize it and the memory usage goes down to about 4-5mb.
then it starts taking more and more memory again.

if its already minimized to tray and still taking more and more memory , open it up and minimize it again and memory usage will go down again.

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Out of Memory
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2011, 11:09:13 PM »
I still have a memory leak somewhere. I have been restarting it everyday when there are no users on and that has been keeping the memory used low.
@crazyboris..I did the minimize thing and it does clear up some of the memory. How weird is that? lol
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 10:36:16 AM by FTNCmedia »

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12837
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2011, 06:18:08 AM »
things like minimizing depends on how Windows decide to manage memory.
It changes from XP to Seven, and it subjects to many other things.
I think we should focus on the number reported by HFS with "show memory usage".
I need to know how it is behaving. Is it increasing even when no one is accessing the server?

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2011, 09:49:17 AM »
i have windows xp (with all updates)
yes its using more and more memory all the time.
even if there is noone accessing the server.

if i wait to long to eather restart the server or do the minimize thing (that i just found out) the whole computer frezes up. i guess all the ram is used up.
i get up in about 160mb memory use/day , so it builds up slowly.
so about every 8-10 day all memory is used up.

it have 2 gig in ram but windows and other stuff also uses som of the memory.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12837
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2011, 12:40:45 PM »
do you use/have "events" ?

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2011, 06:20:09 AM »
hey guys.

My memory problem is a bit different than crazyboris but I still run out of memory at some point. I found that DEBUG>SHOW MEM USAGE is a great way to monitor (just like you said rejetto) and my "out of memory" problem usually occurs around the 500-700MB range. Now if no one is on the server, my memory usage does NOT go up like crazyboris was saying. I do monitor my RAM usage with the CPU Usage gadget and I sometimes see the RAM usage just climb and climb all the way up to 90-98% real fast then HFS stops responding and in order for me to bring it back down, I have to do a computer restart. This problem does not seem to be related to the Mem Usage by HFS being high. Sometimes it happens at 20M and sometimes at 500M so I dont know what that problem is.

 I used to have a problem with my whole computer freezing up and I would have to do a hard shutdown but I did a fresh install of W7 and that fixed my problem. I also am not running all the programs I used to when it would freeze.

If you have some specific questions you want answered, please list them and I will try and be more specific with my answers and watch out for something that you need to know. Thanks again for this product and I just had a friend look at HFS and he was amazed with it. He writes code and such and was thoroughly impressed with the power of HFS. Good job he said :) 

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Out of Memory
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2011, 10:33:02 AM »
do you use/have "events" ?
ehhh ??
dont understand.