Author Topic: Setup Issue  (Read 1656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Setup Issue
« on: March 28, 2011, 04:37:58 PM »
I am not sure when this happened but over one of the last series of updates I am no longer able to save my Chosen IP Address.

I have a DNS service, it is enabled, and configured in HFS.
But every time I open HFS I need to change the default ip address from 192.168.1
.xxx to the DNS.

How can i save it as default?

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1881
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 05:52:43 PM »
yes you can do it , go to menu>>Ip adress >> Custom

you can add your dns name on one line, see picture

return to menu >> ip address  and check the dns name

 ;)
« Last Edit: March 28, 2011, 05:56:16 PM by Mars »

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 09:31:08 PM »
I was asking how to SAVE the setting.
That implies (Though i was specific) that I already changed the settings.

Yju8r response does not address my issue.

Offline r][m

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2011, 05:43:35 AM »
Works here.
After I enter it, I go back, as Mars said, and see if its listed in Menu > IP Address,
and theres a check beside it. (if not click on it)
Then I saved options to file (or registry, whichever you use)
I also save vfs as a precaution, I guess.

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 12:59:33 PM »
R][M,

I tried what you suggested, Saved VFS, to registry and to file.
Rebooted an the ip changed back to the 192.168.xxx.xxx.

It will just not save my custom IP.

SEE BELOW

http://server.gotdns.com/OPEN%20HFS.doc
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 01:11:45 PM by selkov »

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1881
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2011, 01:55:35 PM »
do some screen captures ;)

Offline r][m

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 03:09:55 PM »
Its stored in the hfs ini file here at line 44.
Line 43 & 44 both show my no-ip address.

See if shows in yours?

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2011, 06:23:17 PM »
Assuming that the file is called HFS.INI", I have none.
Searched entire drive, no hfs.ini.

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1881
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2011, 07:40:14 PM »
hfs.ini is created in the hfs.exe folder when you save options to file (not to registry) ;)

don't attach your hfs.ini on a message else all yours accounts can be decryted

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2011, 08:25:40 PM »
I have no HFS.INI, Anywhere.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: Setup Issue
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2011, 05:09:35 PM »
mars meant in his last post that to get the hfs.ini you have to click Menu > save options > to file

anyway, such file would let you know if the problem actually concerns saving, or if your address IS saved but then at start it's changed for some other reason. It would be a clue in understanding your problem's nature.

But I have other questions
1. you said "rebooted". Does the problem happen only when you reboot the PC or just by restarting HFS ?
2. when the problem happens, what do you see inside Menu > IP address ?
3. Are you using the "Dynamic DNS updater" feature of HFS ?