rejetto forum

Optimisation Menu assistant DNS Dynamiques

TCube · 24 · 5838

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TCube

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
Salut Rejetto !

That was my first though : a nice "by-pass" solution from Bacter working "from home" with different instances on HDD or USB ! thks 2 him.

Still if someone want a "USB portable HFS solution"  pluggable anywhere where the hell you could be !! (better bring your post-it along with U)

"Assistant DNS" menu is confusing ... doesn't save in memory anything more than one set up u've entered

TC
Make it idiot-proof and I will make a better idiot


Offline bacter

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 681
    • View Profile
Quote
Still if someone want a "USB portable HFS solution"  pluggable anywhere where the hell you could be !! (better bring your post-it along with U

HFS on USB drive works well for a lan (if you can name the driveletter for your stick as you need..) .... but ... to use it as a server for internet access has exactly the same problem as travelling with your server on a laptop: It doesn't matter to which hell you go - except if you go to a hell with only a normal , slow telephone modem. If you plug in your usb-stick on a pc on a foreign lan or use your laptop with a server, normally, even if you could update the nameserver of your url with your actual IP , you have no rights to access the router to open a port for your server!

If you need one of your servers out of your home and you need more than local access on this lan, think better on using one of your instances at home and control it remotely - using a template that allows you to do all admin tasks, or using - much simpler and faster - a remote control program like vnc, teamviewer etc.
your computer has no brain - use your own !


Offline TCube

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
Correct me if I'm wrong Bacter :

HFS : is able to listen to port : General menu / Automatic test  ... then finding opened ports through Firewall/Router (i.e : 80/8000/8080 ETC).

So anywhere in the world I can carry out my USB Card and be able to be connected : http://66.66.777/ (even hiding the port number -I've tried this before in public libraries).

La "crème de la crème" would be then 2 do a DNS update : http://xxxxxxx.no-ip/  through a drop down menu choice of dynamic dns names.

Getting distantly connected to your "Home HFS" through a distant administration panel : the one made by SilentPliz or VNC is possible but has one inconvenient : "upload time" versus being instantly available, letting our HFS Home Server powered on while being away.

But I'm tempted to try 2 save to file only "the" one dynamic dns name for "the USB Card" and test it out.

TC


Make it idiot-proof and I will make a better idiot


Offline bacter

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 681
    • View Profile
Code: [Select]
HFS : is able to listen to port : General menu / [color=purple]Automatic test[/color]  ... [color=purple]then finding opened ports through Firewall/Router (i.e : 80/8000/8080 ETC)[/color]Automatic test? You mean Self Test ? Does Self Test of your HFS try with different ports to check if any incoming port on the router is redirected to your local ip, and then test if this port is not used by another program? I think it does NOT: self test checks if hfs on your ip can be reached through the port you specified! (have you seen there a range of ports?)
Try in your local public library if port 80,8000 or 8080 are open for you! Even with the worst network administrator, this ports are (normally) not open for any user.

Code: [Select]
So anywhere in the world I can carry out my USB Card and be able to be connected : http://66.66.777/
(even hiding the port number -[color=purple]I've tried this before in public libraries[/color])
Thus, supposed hfs could 'find' any free open port for your ip, it should also modify the setup your dns updater. If your tests in public libraries to use your hfs server has been successful, you are a lucky man - thanks to a very strange network administrator! But... i fear that the person who said to have reached your server in the public library from internet didn't tell you the truth!


Code: [Select]
Getting distantly connected to your "Home HFS" through a distant administration panel : the one made by SilentPliz or VNC is possible,
 but has one inconvenient : "upload time" versus [color=purple]being instantly available[/color], letting our HFS Home Server powered on while being away.
'instantly available' may not be true: The dnsupdater may update your ip on the servers of your service - but the dns servers of different providers often use caché for dns, an up to 10 or 15 minutes may be needed till your dns is updated on other nameservers.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 03:25:17 PM by bacter »
your computer has no brain - use your own !


Offline TCube

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
Bacter

Just quickly :

a - Port 80 often works   ;)   but may or may not ... (leave the port number blank ... HFS will find it ... then a run Automatic test of connexion)
b - Big chance you are absolutely right (updating Dns from a public LAN/WAN)
c - I only meant : where ever you are, having to fumble around your "files" on your HFS USB Card is quite easier to have them "instantly available" to others compared to "upload" them distantly to your Home HFS (like I mean .... 100 or so pictures @ 30Ko/s ... by 10 at the time)

T3
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 04:23:49 PM by TCube »
Make it idiot-proof and I will make a better idiot


Offline SilentPliz

  • Moderator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 1297
  • ....... chut ! shh!
    • View Profile

a - Port 80 often works   ;)   but may or may not ... (leave the port number blank ... HFS will find it ... then a run Automatic test of connexion)

Salut TC! ;)

Juste pour mettre les pieds dans le plat:

Le message accompagnant "le bouton" Port, est plutôt ambigu, il sous entend implicitement que si on laisse le champ vide, HFS va tenter de trouver automatiquement un port ouvert, si il y en a un:

Quote
Specify a port to accept connexion, or leave empty for decide automatically

La traduction que j'en ai fait (tout au début, quand je connaissais moins le programme), a maintenue (même renforcée) l'ambigüité:

Quote
Veuillez entrer un port pour la connexion, ou laisser vide pour un choix de port automatique

Si tu laisse vide, avec le HFS officiel, tu vois le bouton indiquer  Port:80

Avec le test auto (Self test), en fait, HFS va tenter d'obtenir une réponse sur un des ports suivants:

80, 81, 8000, 8080

Tu vois que c'est loin d'être exhaustif.  :D On reste sur du standard, en aucun cas un scan de port n'est lancé.

Sur un malentendu, cela peut peut-être parfois passer...  :)
Si tu essais chez moi, mon pare feu va t'envoyer promener en tous cas.

Sur un accès publique, quand ça "passe", penses à jouer au casino... c'est ton jour de chance.

Conclusion, ce serait bien que le message original soit revu, ainsi que ma traduction... je vais essayer de mon côté, de trouver une formulation moins optimiste.

@++
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 10:33:38 AM by SilentPliz »


Offline TCube

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
I'll click on the red star "Thank U" for Bacter, Mars and Silentplitz !

Amazing ... thks U pals !

- Bacter is giving me "real life info" about what's possible and what's almost impossible connecting HFS from USB Card from anywhere (with workaround solutions),
- Mars is "rockin' " on the optimization of HFS (getting on the bolts and nuts with more than one DNS kept in memory within HFS)
- & Silentplitz may from then slightly improve the HFS Beta French version.

This early morning 'round 6.30 am , reading the all thread I wondered if  I was a bit getting tedious on this  ::)

Thanks for Ur patience
T3


Edit : Thanks to U again ... I really thought my question was a drop in the Ocean at the beginning  ;)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 11:48:38 AM by TCube »
Make it idiot-proof and I will make a better idiot


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13268
    • View Profile
La "crème de la crème" would be then 2 do a DNS update : http://xxxxxxx.no-ip/  through a drop down menu choice of dynamic dns names.

i understand it would be handy for you to get it integrated in HFS, but in my point of view, complicating the DNS updater to handle multiple accounts would be a bad design choice.
it's an "extra thing" and should stay simple.
If you are an heavy (and unusual) DNS needs, you should rely on one of those specific and official softwares.


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13268
    • View Profile
Does Self Test of your HFS try with different ports to check if any incoming port on the router is redirected to your local ip, and then test if this port is not used by another program? I think it does NOT: self test checks if hfs on your ip can be reached through the port you specified! (have you seen there a range of ports?)

it waits for a connection from the internet (rejetto.com) trying on few ports. The first to be tried is the current port.

Quote
Try in your local public library if port 80,8000 or 8080 are open for you! Even with the worst network administrator, this ports are (normally) not open for any user.

i know it's strange, but i saw a library where public PCs had an Internet IP address, not a local one. There was no NATting.
in such case, it's likely that running HFS from an usb-drive could serve over the internet.

Quote
The dnsupdater may update your ip on the servers of your service - but the dns servers of different providers often use caché for dns, an up to 10 or 15 minutes may be needed till your dns is updated on other nameservers.

if the address is not in any dns cache, then the first request will get the updated address in few seconds (10-30).
i experienced this several times.