Author Topic: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build  (Read 1421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ELEVENNNN

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • havent been here lately, still wont be here?
    • View Profile
Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« on: October 30, 2007, 01:16:09 AM »
Hey,

Ever since the find about hibernation/standby i'm shooting for 99.9% uptime. (for no specific reason, just because I can) That being said, when you upgrade hfs to the new build via the popup saying there is a newer version avaliable, does the server uptime counter get reset?  It goes slightly too fast to tell if the UI is just updated or if it closes and restarts, although a hfs.old is parsed, but i'm still unclear.

Can someone clarify if they know. Also, this is post #100 :)

-Kurt
This is going to take a long time
.................+...........................................
...................+.............+.................+.........
......................................

Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2007, 05:11:56 AM »
I believe the update process is done by a batch file that closes hfs and then replaces hfs.exe with the new one and then runs it.

I think the counter does get reset.

Offline ELEVENNNN

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • havent been here lately, still wont be here?
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2007, 07:36:41 AM »
I was pretty sure that was the case but I thought I'd check, I cant imagine a way to do it without killing hfs.  Although lately Rejetto has been putting new builds out every 3 days, its been almost a month i think!

Thanks for the reply as usual.
This is going to take a long time
.................+...........................................
...................+.............+.................+.........
......................................

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 750
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2007, 06:08:27 PM »
My opinion is if HFS is closed <1min (usually on updates), to not reset the uptime counter. You just updated a build, but you were not really offline.
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline ELEVENNNN

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • havent been here lately, still wont be here?
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2007, 06:35:03 PM »
Thats the news I wanted to here! Can anyone confirm or perhaps the r-man himself?

Thanks mark for attempting to confirm both of my questions (hibernate as well as this)
Mark, where are you from?

-Kurt
This is going to take a long time
.................+...........................................
...................+.............+.................+.........
......................................

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 750
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2007, 05:54:19 AM »
Sorry, forgot to pick a country. Used to use the Location field for that, but it's no more displayed. rejetto once had a phpBB2.
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13121
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2007, 03:06:03 PM »
i understand perfectly your uptime fever :)
nevertheless i'm puzzled about how serious would be the behaviour your suggest for HFS.
other server softwares don't act this way, do they?

Offline Giant Eagle

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • >=3 RAWR!
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs.com
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2007, 03:14:17 PM »
other server software dont have updates every week :P

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13121
    • View Profile
Re: Question, Upgrading HFS to new build
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2007, 04:36:33 PM »
takes months for an HFS official build.
everyday you can download Apache sources, while it is developed, and make your daily build.