rejetto forum

Dynamic DNS - manual update

Foggy · 12 · 4460

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
I think that the dynamic dns updater menu should also include a manual update button so that we arnt always relying on the automatic updater even though 99% of the time thats all we will need.


Offline TSG

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs
yay another good idea  :), i wonder if we can get multiple dns support for dyndns? so 1 ip can be used with multiple dns's... like the dyndns updater program allows. That would reduce a program running on my pc if it had that, i have 3 alias for my url.


Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
yeah I like the idea of multiple alias'

and also while we are at it do you think you could create setup wizards for some other DDNS providers. It's not needed but I think that the current DDNS providers aren't always the best. They do work and everything but they still have alot to be desired compared to other providers.


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13158
    • View Profile
yeah I like the idea of multiple alias'

that would make the GUI for DNS much more complex.
i guess very few people has multiple aliases, and they should use the specific updater.

Quote
and also while we are at it do you think you could create setup wizards for some other DDNS providers.

sure, just tell me what

I think that the dynamic dns updater menu should also include a manual update button so that we arnt always relying on the automatic updater even though 99% of the time thats all we will need.

this is contrary to the policy of those services.
does the official updater have such command?
they may even ban every HFS if they think it's unlawful.


Offline TSG

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs
yeah I like the idea of multiple alias'

that would make the GUI for DNS much more complex.
i guess very few people has multiple aliases, and they should use the specific updater.

Pretty please? :-\

I think that the dynamic dns updater menu should also include a manual update button so that we arnt always relying on the automatic updater even though 99% of the time thats all we will need.

this is contrary to the policy of those services.
does the official updater have such command?
they may even ban every HFS if they think it's unlawful.

You are correct, the official DynDns program has a 'Force Update', if i press i get a warning   >:(

[001] - 00:01:13 - 09/06/2007 - Rotating log file...
[003] - 23:20:43 - 09/06/2007 - Manual update is requested
[005] - 23:20:43 - 09/06/2007 - Update process starts
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - wedoworld.homeftp.net [dyndns.org]: good 61.68.208.239 (Update good and successful, IP updated)
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - tog.homeftp.net [dyndns.org]: good 61.68.208.239 (Update good and successful, IP updated)
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - tog.kicks-ass.net [dyndns.org]: good 61.68.208.239 (Update good and successful, IP updated)
[005] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - Update process finished
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - Update result: no error
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - Next force update: 10/01/2007 23:20:43
[002] - 23:20:45 - 09/06/2007 - DynDNS Updater ready...
[003] - 23:20:55 - 09/06/2007 - Manual update is requested
[005] - 23:20:55 - 09/06/2007 - Update process starts
[003] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - wedoworld.homeftp.net [dyndns.org]: nochg 61.68.208.239 (No changes, update considered abusive)
[003] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - tog.homeftp.net [dyndns.org]: nochg 61.68.208.239 (No changes, update considered abusive)
[003] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - tog.kicks-ass.net [dyndns.org]: nochg 61.68.208.239 (No changes, update considered abusive)
[005] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - Update process finished
[003] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - Update result: warning
[002] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - Next force update: 10/01/2007 23:20:55
[002] - 23:20:57 - 09/06/2007 - DynDNS Updater ready...

« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 06:02:27 AM by TSG »


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13158
    • View Profile
no-ip is scaring about that, on their policy.
i read it.
they may even run over your cat.


Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
yeah I like the idea of multiple alias'

that would make the GUI for DNS much more complex.
i guess very few people has multiple aliases, and they should use the specific updater.

I Understand what you mean and you have a valid point.

sure, just tell me what

Ill do a bit of a look for some good ones tommorrow but you can start with what I use which is dnip.net.
the url to update your ip is

http://www.dnip.net/update.cgi?id=<user>&password=<Password>&step=2&address=<IP>

If anyone knows a good DDNS service, then please recommend it.

this is contrary to the policy of those services.
does the official updater have such command?
they may even ban every HFS if they think it's unlawful.

I wasn't aware of that, but it certainly explains why you never included such an option in the first place.


Offline Unknown8063

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
TSG, those warnings are for updating DynDNS to the same IP that was already there.  Forcing an update for DynDNS to a different IP results in no warning.  I am unfamiliar with other services, as I have always used DynDNS.org


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13158
    • View Profile
yes, but when the IP is different (bugs excluded) HFS does the update automatically.
If a bug is there, then we should track it and fix it.


Offline maverick

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 1052
  • Computer Solutions
    • View Profile
I think that the dynamic dns updater menu should also include a manual update button so that we arnt always relying on the automatic updater even though 99% of the time thats all we will need.

Actually there is a way to manually update your dynamic dns.  I use no-ip but it should work with others.

Menu -> Dynamic DNS Updater -> Custom -> Click OK (don't make any changes to the URL you show for updating).  You will see the results in your log.
maverick


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13158
    • View Profile
ok, feature implemented and ready in your current build :D


Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
Actually there is a way to manually update your dynamic dns.  I use no-ip but it should work with others.

Menu -> Dynamic DNS Updater -> Custom -> Click OK (don't make any changes to the URL you show for updating).  You will see the results in your log.

Thats what I've been doing currently.

ok, feature implemented and ready in your current build :D

Thanks ;D