Author Topic: [Fixed]HFS error while updating  (Read 4781 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #15 on: July 24, 2007, 12:56:58 AM »
No, I completely disabled DEP using the /noexecute=AlwaysOff policy in boot.ini, but it's still occouring. This pretty much rules out any DEP related setting.
(What the hell is he talking about?)

Stays the 64bit Processor incompatibility. Or my notebook is to blame.


Maybe you could be so kind and seperate the update-code into a small commandline tool so I can check via batchfiles on this system?

Maybe like:

Code: [Select]
@echo off
hfs-up.exe /path="C:\Program Files\HFS\" /unstable=yes /downloadonly=yes
taskkill.exe /f hfs.exe
ren "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.exe" "HFS.old.exe"
ren "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.new.exe" "HFS.exe"
start "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.exe"
exit

Killing the HFS via TASKKILL works, I tested this.
hfs-up.exe with /downloadonly would allow me to only download the new build to HFS.new.exe and do the rest myself.

I know, the source is available, but I know zilch of coding... lol
« Last Edit: July 24, 2007, 01:02:21 AM by MarkV »
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2007, 02:10:41 AM »
Code: [Select]
START /WAIT hfs -q
ping 127.0.0.1 -n 3 -w 1000> nul
MOVE hfs.exe hfs.old.exe
MOVE /Y hfs.new.exe hfs.exe
START hfs.exe

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #17 on: July 24, 2007, 02:31:31 AM »
This is essentially the batch file HFS executes when updating.

The line
Code: [Select]
START /WAIT hfs -qresults in (2 times)
Code: [Select]
Access violation at address 74DD0CC2. Read of address 74DD0CC2.
This one line in the batch is my problem. I cannot invoke HFS from the commandline if it is already running, not even with -q.

Code: [Select]
@echo off
hfs-up.exe /path="C:\Program Files\HFS\" /unstable=yes /downloadonly=yes
if not exist "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.new.exe" goto end
taskkill.exe /f hfs.exe
ren "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.exe" "HFS.old.exe"
ren "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.new.exe" "HFS.exe"
start "C:\Program Files\HFS\HFS.exe"
:end
exit

My batch would work because TASKKILL quits HFS, not HFS itself.
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #18 on: July 24, 2007, 11:22:16 AM »
does HFS save settings when killed by taskkill?

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #19 on: July 24, 2007, 02:45:35 PM »
I have good news.
I got an error very similar to yours, and i was able to reproduce it every time, though i couldn't say how to do it in another system.
I also think i fixed it, so make a test and let me know.
www.dovedove.it/hfs/hfs123.exe

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #20 on: July 24, 2007, 07:20:41 PM »
OK. Will test ASAP.

P. S. Are these silent updates? Or beta builds? My autoupdate won't pick it up...
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2007, 07:24:58 PM »
i'm just publishing on the forum.
no autoupdate, sorry.

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #22 on: July 24, 2007, 07:43:42 PM »
It seems to be fixed/smashed/whatever for good. No more AV, no more DrWatson. LOL.

Now that was a tough bugger...


edit: You don't mind me closing it? 'cause I wanted to do that for a long time. [Closed]
« Last Edit: July 24, 2007, 07:47:24 PM by MarkV »
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: [Reopened]HFS error while updating
« Reply #23 on: July 24, 2007, 08:14:37 PM »
of course, to test, you just need to make an hfs -q
or similar

i'm collecting bug fixes before i publish an official update