Author Topic: 2.0 coming...  (Read 362225 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

in4matik

  • Guest
Secure communication?
« Reply #540 on: January 18, 2005, 12:34:22 AM »
Is there a way to make HFS use SSL for secure communications? OpenSSL is open-source so...

What do you think?

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: Secure communication?
« Reply #541 on: January 18, 2005, 02:03:26 AM »
Quote from: "in4matik"
Is there a way to make HFS use SSL for secure communications? OpenSSL is open-source so...
i'm not going to work on SSL soon

BJ

  • Guest
HFS Error
« Reply #542 on: January 20, 2005, 02:36:51 PM »
Hfs had run for 3 1/2 day. then i pressed menu and the error occured.


Access violation at address 00454CCC in module 'hfs.exe'. Read of address 00000004
HFS 2.0 beta16
----------------------------------------------------------------
Stack list, generated 20.01.2005 15:34:45
[00454CCC]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TMonitor.GetBoundsRect + $10
[004041AF]{hfs.exe     } System.@HandleAnyException + $33
[00454F5F]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TScreen.GetMonitor + $B
[00455183]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TScreen.FindMonitor + $23
[00454C76]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TMonitor.GetHeight + $A
[00455E2F]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TScreen.MonitorFromPoint + $27
[004A670A]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.CheckMenuDropdown + $22E
[004A2619]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolButton.CheckMenuDropdown + $39
[004A5170]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.CNNotify + $B8
[004675BC]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TControl.WndProc + $188
[0046A55F]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.WndProc + $157
[0045105D]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TCustomForm.WndProc + $421
[0041DFEE]{hfs.exe     } Classes.TThreadList.UnlockList (Line 3097, "classes.pas" + 1) + $7
[0042F8D0]{hfs.exe     } Graphics.FreeMemoryContexts + $98
[0046A1DC]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc + $2C
[0046A1F1]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc + $41
[00428E1C]{hfs.exe     } Classes.StdWndProc (Line 10565, "classes.pas" + 8) + $0
[0046A55F]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.WndProc + $157
[0045105D]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TCustomForm.WndProc + $421
[0041DFEE]{hfs.exe     } Classes.TThreadList.UnlockList (Line 3097, "classes.pas" + 1) + $7
[0046A55F]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.WndProc + $157
[004A5D31]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.WndProc + $231
[0046738C]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TControl.Perform + $24
[0046A697]{hfs.exe     } Controls.DoControlMsg + $23
[0046AD15]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.WMNotify + $D
[004675BC]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TControl.WndProc + $188
[0046A55F]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.WndProc + $157
[004A5D31]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.WndProc + $231
[0046A1DC]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc + $2C
[00428E1C]{hfs.exe     } Classes.StdWndProc (Line 10565, "classes.pas" + 8) + $0
[004A5AF3]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.SendDropdownMsg + $63
[004A5CC4]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.WndProc + $1C4
[004A5D20]{hfs.exe     } ComCtrls.TToolBar.WndProc + $220
[0046A1DC]{hfs.exe     } Controls.TWinControl.MainWndProc + $2C
[00428E1C]{hfs.exe     } Classes.StdWndProc (Line 10565, "classes.pas" + 8) + $0
[00457EF9]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TApplication.StopHintTimer + $15
[00457263]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TApplication.ProcessMessage + $83
[0045729A]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TApplication.HandleMessage + $A
[004574BA]{hfs.exe     } Forms.TApplication.Run + $96
[005030A9]{hfs.exe     } hfs.hfs (Line 53, "c:\code\mine\hfs\hfs.dpr" + 13) + $2
----------------------------------------------------------------
System   : Windows XP Professional, Version: 5.1, Build: A28, "Service Pack 2"
Processor: AMD, AMD Athlon(TM) XP, 2080 MHz MMX
Display  : 1280x1024 pixels, 32 bpp
----------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------

Offline Rafi

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
A suggestion for a small improvement - disk names in HFS
« Reply #543 on: January 22, 2005, 02:48:59 PM »
Here is a suggestion for a small improvement -
When you add a whole disk to HFS - enter both it's label AND it's drive letter as HFS tree-node-name.
Also - enable to drag it (like any other directory).

And a small thing I've just learned - defining virtual disk drives in Windows 98+ you can enter it to HFS as any other drive!
Here is the  is a command that does it:

C>subst
Associates a path with a drive letter

SUBST [drive1: [drive2:]path]
SUBST drive1: /D

drive1:        Specifies a virtual drive to which you want to assign a path
[drive2:]path  Specifies a physical drive and path you want to assign to a virtual drive
/D             Deletes a substituted (virtual) drive/

Type SUBST with no parameters to display a list of current virtual drives

Drowiz

  • Guest
Woa!
« Reply #544 on: January 23, 2005, 05:20:00 PM »
Hi!
I'm just posting to say 'BRAVO' to rejeto and whoever work on dev of HFS!

I'm running 2.0b17 for 2 weeks now and no problem in general, just few thing I'd like to be improved.  Looking forward for next release!!

Thanks again for keeping it free, and we all know that makes it a superior software!!

Keep up the good work!

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
HFS
« Reply #545 on: January 24, 2005, 03:36:24 AM »
Hi folks.

First I want to say, HFS 2.0 b17 runs without a crash on my machines (with a mix of several OSes and other software). But I don't use any speed limitation or other features which are known to cause problems.
HFS is an excellent piece of software!

There are still some questions  :roll:  :

Q1. Options

From what I have read so far HFS loads options in the following order
 1. HFS.INI
 2. user registry (HKCU)
 3. global registry (HKLM)

Now the problem is that if you have an old HFS.INI without knowing and save the new settings to registry, HFS loads the older INI file before the registry (correct) settings at startup.
Solution: If saving to registry, HFS should add a simple timestamp to the settings. Now, at startup HFS compares these timestamp(s) with the "Last Modification Date" from HFS.INI and loads the most recent (last saved) settings instead the hardcoded priority above. Hope you understand what I'm trying to say rejetto...

Q2. As I'm frequently moving whole directory structures/files to different locations, I learned that there is only a single way to get the VFS entries working in HFS again: remove and re-add them.
So what I (and I think some others too) need is:

 1. right click on a file/directory
 2. choose "change file path"
 3. point HFS to the new location of the file/dir
 4. The VFS entry is updated to represent the new file/dir just selected
     (The entry name should NOT be changed, we already have Rename for that.)

Q3. If you need to set restrictions on several files/dirs and have a large number of users defined, there are a LOT of clicks 'till you trough with it. I think we need an extra window (to save several hundred clicks...) where you can put checkmarks and press OK once...
Ability to change permissions recursively would also be very nice...  ;)

Q4. I'm having a small problem with icons. If I'm trying to set a new icon for a file/dir, the list is cut at the bottom of the screen and there is no scrolling feature, at least on my machine. So, I never get to the last icons... Testing with WinNT Workstation. Is there a way to switch to multi column view? Is there a way to use custom (externally loaded) icons?

Q5. If I browse a large real folder, there is a very long delay until the page appears. From what I guess this is HFS loading filenames and file icons, right? Would there be a way to 'cache' the icons (no I don't mean browser cache) so HFS just has to collect icon data once. Also the cache should timeout after some time in case some icons were changed/deleted.
This way, HFS would only load the filenames, cached icons and icons of new files, thus decreasing the build time.

Note: Should any of these questions be already on to-do, just ignore it.
After all, only suggestions... HFS is great anyway!

MarkV
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Martinez1981

  • Guest
2.0 coming...
« Reply #546 on: January 24, 2005, 08:26:25 AM »
Hi, I have too the new beta (nr. 17)
I have no problems with it, but a friedn of mine has the following problem:

When he arrives at 99% of a file it takes approx 5 Minutes to jump from 99% to 100%

On my side I see the file already as completed ...

Don't know if it's a bug ...

Thanks

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
2.0 coming...
« Reply #547 on: January 24, 2005, 09:48:12 PM »
Quote from: "Martinez1981"
Hi, I have too the new beta (nr. 17)
I have no problems with it, but a friedn of mine has the following problem:

When he arrives at 99% of a file it takes approx 5 Minutes to jump from 99% to 100%

On my side I see the file already as completed ...

Don't know if it's a bug ...

Thanks

Hm, sounds like he is using Internet Explorer... You should ask him if there is heavy disk activity during the delay.
IE first downloads the file to a temporary location (Temporary Internet Files, TIF) , then, upon completion, the file is copied to the final destination (download folder). Now, if the file is fairly big, the final step of moving to the download folder can take some time. There are several factors that add to the delay:

1. slow or fragmented hard disk
2. slow computer hardware
3. the Temporary Internet files and the download folder are on different partitions (even if on the same disk) -> in this case IE physically moves the file from one location to the other

With some versions of IE you get the normal 'copy progress window', with other versions you don't see anything...

If HFS shows the file as transferred 100%, it's a client-side issue anyway.

MarkV
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
2.0 coming...
« Reply #548 on: January 25, 2005, 04:30:16 AM »
Q1. when you save cfg to a place, HFS deletes cfg in all other places, so what you are saying should never happen
Q2. are you talking about real folders, right? i think it may be better if HFS detects the movement and auto-update
Q3. the dialog is planned for 2.1 and access permissions are already recursive
Q4. i get the scrolling arrows. i fear it is a limit of NT4 and i don't know any way to solve this. to load an icon just add the file to HFS, then remove it. icons are saved inside the VFS.
Q5. i tried caching the icon of the file, and yes, it greatly improved the speed. my system32 folder was 3.3s and now is 1.5s

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
2.0 coming...
« Reply #549 on: January 25, 2005, 04:37:18 AM »
www.rejetto.com/temp/hfs2.0beta18.zip

+ greatly improved speed loading icons for real folders
- "Use UNICODE in HTML" was not saved

i also introduced a little change that may help detecting where the processQ bug is :sick:

Offline Rafi

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
2.0 coming...
« Reply #550 on: January 25, 2005, 04:45:36 AM »
Quote from: "rejetto"
Q4. i get the scrolling arrows. i fear it is a limit of NT4 and i don't know any way to solve this. to load an icon just add the file to HFS, then remove it. icons are saved inside the VFS.
maybe give an option to either have a one-column  long list or split to multiple columns (like Windows start->programs...)
BTW - doesn't the length of the list it have to do with the display  resolution ?

Martinez1981

  • Guest
2.0 coming...
« Reply #551 on: January 25, 2005, 08:11:55 AM »
Hi there yesterday we transferred some jpgs - the problem occurs also with the old release.
He has no hard drive activity during this and I don't thing that 12 KB is a big size???

Well thanks again, we will check ...

Igoriosha

  • Guest
2.0 coming...
« Reply #552 on: January 25, 2005, 04:13:26 PM »
An exception occured when I'm trying to access the CDROM drive, when there is no disc

AwPhuch

  • Guest
2.0 coming...
« Reply #553 on: January 25, 2005, 06:39:50 PM »
Quote from: "Igoriosha"
An exception occured when I'm trying to access the CDROM drive, when there is no disc

I do believe that constitutues a DUH!!!!!  You always get an error message when you try to access a drive that has no media...

Brian
AwPhuch

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
2.0 coming...
« Reply #554 on: January 26, 2005, 02:42:04 AM »
Quote from: "Rafi"
maybe give an option to either have a one-column  long list or split to multiple columns (like Windows start->programs...)
BTW - doesn't the length of the list it have to do with the display  resolution ?
i have no control over it