rejetto forum

HFS With no Tray ICON

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline enanotg

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi! I have been using HFS long time and its amazing! :D

But I need it to run with no try icon, just running the software in the background, is this possible?

Thanks! :D


Offline TEA-Time

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Hi enanotg.  Yeah, HFS is great!

If your HFS isn't already in Expert mode, click "You are in Easy mode" to switch to Expert mode, then click "Menu", then "Tray icons", then uncheck "Show main tray icon".  You can switch back to Easy mode after that if you want.

Edit: Oh, and you'll probably also want to make sure "Tray icon for each download" in the "Tray icons" menu is unchecked.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2020, 01:51:16 AM by TEA-Time »


Offline enanotg

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi Thanks for the response.

I did that but when you minimize HFS goes to tray, so it shows an Icon, the idea it to run it in the background


Hi enanotg.  Yeah, HFS is great!

If your HFS isn't already in Expert mode, click "You are in Easy mode" to switch to Expert mode, then click "Menu", then "Tray icons", then uncheck "Show main tray icon".  You can switch back to Easy mode after that if you want.

Edit: Oh, and you'll probably also want to make sure "Tray icon for each download" in the "Tray icons" menu is unchecked.


Offline TEA-Time

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Oops, sorry I missed that.  It can be made to minimize to the task bar instead of the tray, but unfortunately I don't see any way to make it run in the background.  I've never used one myself, but I know there are utilities that allow you to run any program as a service.


Offline NaitLee

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 119
  • Computer brained boy
    • View Profile
Seems this is well:
when HFS is already minimized to tray,
right click the icon, switch Tray icons -> Show main tray icon to off (if it's already off, turn on first),
then it disappeared!

Edit: you may also need this:
In Windows 10, right click taskbar (where opened software's icon shows) -> taskbar settings -> scroll down -> select which icon appear on the taskbar
  -> Uncheck the "Always show..." switch and HFS' switch, then unwanted icons will be folded.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2020, 02:35:55 AM by NaitLee »
Had some psychiatry problem and resting in home... I may need your help... So play with me? :D
Check out my template ;)


Offline TEA-Time

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Seems this is well:
when HFS is already minimized to tray,
right click the icon, switch Tray icons -> Show main tray icon to off (if it's already off, turn on first),
then it disappeared!

Ah.. neat little trick. :)

Now there needs to be a way to make it reappear. Heh  Maybe a way through the web interface when a certain account or member of a certain group like admin is logged in..?

Edit: Or SysInternals' Process Explorer can be used to "Restore" HFS and pop it back on the screen.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2020, 02:45:59 AM by TEA-Time »


Offline NaitLee

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 119
  • Computer brained boy
    • View Profile
Now there needs to be a way to make it reappear. Heh  Maybe a way through the web interface when a certain account or member of a certain group like admin is logged in..?

The macro {.focus.} can do this. With other macros detecting users, this is possible ;)
Had some psychiatry problem and resting in home... I may need your help... So play with me? :D
Check out my template ;)



Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13308
    • View Profile
yeah, something like this in events (ALT+F6)

[request]
{.if|{.%user% = rejetto.}|{:{.focus.}:}.}


 

but you can change it to make it work for groups as well


Offline enanotg

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 3
    • View Profile

Offline TEA-Time

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
yeah, something like this in events (ALT+F6)

[request]
{.if|{.%user% = rejetto.}|{:{.focus.}:}.}


 

but you can change it to make it work for groups as well

Excellent!  So easy.  Where is the list of variables?  I can't seem to find them in the wiki. :-/



Offline TEA-Time

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 67
    • View Profile