Author Topic: HFS not able to start.  (Read 114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zoremeth

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
HFS not able to start.
« on: October 11, 2018, 07:26:23 PM »
I really love using HFS when sharing files with friends. However, the latest build, #300 just does not want to seem to start.

When opening it gives the following error:

Code: [Select]
Application Error:
Exception EKdlError in module hfs.exe at 000A4DB0.
K.D.L initialization error.
Please put uFreeLocalizer before UTF8VCL in an uses clause of Application.

For the record, I am using Windows 10 Home. There are HFS files except the exe itself in the folder. Also, I tried the hfs24b4 version which also did not work.
Screenshot here: http://prntscr.com/l503sm

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2018, 02:32:45 AM »
Hi! and welcome to the forum... :)

That's a weird error, since HFS it's not using "UTF8VCL" (although it seems to be related to "Kryvich's Delphi Localizer", but you are the first person to report a problem). Are you using some translated version of HFS? (like this version).

Please do this: try running HFS v2.3k Build #299 Spanish Beta and see if it gives you the same error or if it starts normally, but run it on a separate (different) folder (this is very important), without copying any personal file there (if you have another HFS version running, please close it before running this other version). Just unzip it to some folder, and run hfs.exe without adding or deleting any other file (and do not update it to the last version, just for doing this test). If the error continues, try closing any other software you have open (like for example: keynote-nf or any other software). Then please report the results here. ;)

Cheers,
Leo.-
• HFS ahora también disponible en Español! (Clic aqui) :)
• HFS is now also available in Spanish! (Click here)

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Zoremeth

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2018, 08:04:52 AM »
Hi! and welcome to the forum... :)

That's a weird error, since HFS it's not using "UTF8VCL" (although it seems to be related to "Kryvich's Delphi Localizer", but you are the first person to report a problem). Are you using some translated version of HFS? (like this version).

Please do this: try running HFS v2.3k Build #299 Spanish Beta and see if it gives you the same error or if it starts normally, but run it on a separate (different) folder (this is very important), without copying any personal file there (if you have another HFS version running, please close it before running this other version). Just unzip it to some folder, and run hfs.exe without adding or deleting any other file (and do not update it to the last version, just for doing this test). If the error continues, try closing any other software you have open (like for example: keynote-nf or any other software). Then please report the results here. ;)

Cheers,
Leo.-

Hi Leo,

I went and followed your steps. I downloaded the version you linked, put it in a separate empty folder and ran it. It still gives me the same error. After getting the error again, I closed off some programs and tried again. Still the same error.

Just for testing sake, I looked around on the internet for an older build. To which I stumbled upon a download of 2.3j (#298). And funny enough, it totally works. No problems at all. Does not even matter what it is in.

Thanks for the warm welcome and let me know if you figure something out,
Zoremeth.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 788
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2018, 01:41:23 PM »
I've been trying to isolate your error. As Leo said, your the first to submit something  on this type of error. Out courisity, are you using a remote desktop to the machine?

As your error is pulling some for remote screen mirrored. And potentially netframework errors. (Hfs doesn't rely on net framework installation, but it's worth a check)...

I'm glad you at least found a working build for the moment.

From what I can tell/process from the error message given by windows is:

Windows is complaining about a missing dll file, or a older dll file on which when ran a memory handle exception occurred.

Also what windows 10 build are you running?
Cmd > winver
« Last Edit: October 12, 2018, 01:45:49 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline Zoremeth

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2018, 01:45:24 PM »
I've been trying to isolate your error. As Leo said, your the first to submit something  on this type of error. Out courisity, are you using a remote desktop to the machine?

As your error is pulling some for remote screen mirrored. And potentially netframework errors. (Hfs doesn't rely on net framework installation, but it's worth a check)...

I'm glad you at least found a working build for the moment.

I am not using any related to remote desktop. As a matter of fact, Windows 10 Home does not even have support for RDP. I'll have an opportunity to try with another machine today, so I'll let you guys know.

Greetings,

Zoremeth.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 788
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2018, 01:48:25 PM »
Side note for a FYI, all windows machine including home have rep support for windows built in see here: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.windowscentral.com/how-use-remove-desktop-app-connect-pc-windows-10-0%3famp

And there always third party tools such as TeamViewer.

Was a courisity. :P
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2018, 07:22:14 AM »
I went and followed your steps. I downloaded the version you linked, put it in a separate empty folder and ran it. It still gives me the same error. After getting the error again, I closed off some programs and tried again. Still the same error.
OK, thanks for your report. I almost sure this is error is caused by some kind of incompatibility with other software you have installed (or with your current Windows build). I don't know if there is a way you could generate a 'debugger dump' to help Rejetto catch and fix this error (and see why this error happened on your PC and not on others). Like bmartino1 said, as a reference it would be nice to know the exact build number of Windows 10 that you run (to do this: press Win+R, write there "winver"). For the moment, keep using that old version 2.3j (#298).

@Rejetto: is there any 'debugger' that this user could run to generate a 'dump'? I was thinking on WinDbg, but I don't if that software generates a crash report that could help you to fix this error. Since I bet this error is 90% related to the "Kryvich's Delphi Localizer" component you added on HFS 2.3 Build 300, I was thinking if there is a way to make a 'conditional' load of this component (a simple check when HFS starts: if the 'hfs.lng' file exist, then load the component normally, but if that file does NOT exist, then the component is not loaded at all, since it's not needed). Perhaps that could be a temporal solution to this (but I don't know if it's feasible to do that).
• HFS ahora también disponible en Español! (Clic aqui) :)
• HFS is now also available in Spanish! (Click here)

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12888
    • View Profile
Re: HFS not able to start.
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2018, 09:47:56 PM »
that's not possible AFAIK.
I'm trying to follow the error message, so i moved the uFreeLocalizer at the top of the 'uses' clause.
Just wait for the next beta to be published so you can test this possible solution.
and welcome Zoremeth!