Author Topic: moving to another pc  (Read 480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SRocha

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
moving to another pc
« on: May 18, 2018, 01:40:21 PM »
Hello!
I'm using this HFS version and i think it's amazing!

I'm working on a Project that needs do restrict access to specific resources. So i created a few diferente types of accounts.
I saved the file system file and moved my projet to another PC. I restarted HFS, loaded the file system file (vfs) but the user accounts are gone. Where HFS stores that information? Is it possible to recover that information?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 01:42:40 PM by SRocha »

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2018, 08:59:34 PM »
on first PC, switch hfs to expert mode

Menu > save options > to file


backup your hfs folder to second PC

the accounts are included in the hfs.ini file with all the other parameters


Offline SRocha

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2018, 01:57:46 PM »
Thank you Mars for the help. It worked!!!

However i have another question :(
I configured HFS in a folder (Main folder). The folder has one folder for data (files and html pages) and other folder with HFS (including vfs and ini files).
I moved the main folder to other location, i loaded the virtual file system and everything seemed to be ok. I noticed that the file icons in "Virtual File System" were all blank icons. My site wasn't working. Right clicking on a blank icon and choosing "Edit resource" solved my problem. The issue is that i have lots of files to edit... is there a way to do it all at the same time?

Thank you.

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2018, 03:56:54 PM »
I have never been aware of a similar case, are the directory icons also affected by the problem?

is opening "Edit resource" and closing it sufficient, or is it also necessary to find the target for each item and force a link update?

I would like you to look at an item corresponding to a folder and which always has its icon in white,

 you display its properties and go to the "other" tab,
you will see a location corresponding to the icon that must be displayed:
 is it it titled "default" ?
 is it a numeric value?
 as well as the appearance of the icon?

if you can accompany your answer with a screenshot of the HFS window and specific folder's properties, it will be nice, either directly with a dedicated logisiel or even with a smartphone (but without using the flash)
« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 04:08:39 PM by Mars »

Offline SRocha

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2018, 04:06:06 PM »
Hi Mars,

In order to get this working you need to "Edit resource" and point to the directory where the file is located. The Folder icons are OK, but the files placed in those folders must be edited :(

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2018, 04:11:45 PM »
it seems that only html files are impacted

go to menu -> Virtual file system -> icons mask


what do you have as items in the list

--> screenshot   ;)


The Folder icons are OK, but the files placed in those folders must be edited

it's because you have moved the directory containing these files, all path are  brocken

I also notice that a good part of your files are protected by an identifier + password, have you used the right click and the option "set user / pass" or defined a restriction of access since the properties of each file


what you can do is to use the PURGE option of the context menu on the root of the vfs, this will remove the elements which no longer have a direct link, and then to re-import all the html files missing from and then their new location on the disk

However, you will have to redefine access permissions to these files

to add again the files would not replace the existing ones with a bad path, but it would create duplicates with the same name with a numeric value, it's neccesary to remove first bad files.

this may be more work than manually redrawing the path of each file (<50 if I judge by the size of the elevator representing your VFS
« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 04:30:13 PM by Mars »

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12904
    • View Profile
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2018, 04:38:13 PM »
In order to get this working you need to "Edit resource" and point to the directory where the file is located. The Folder icons are OK, but the files placed in those folders must be edited :(

your main problem is that you used a VIRTUAL folder when probably you needed a REAL folder.

Offline Jyicko

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Guysroulette
Re: moving to another pc
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 08:59:57 AM »
I was running into the virtual folder problem too, seemed like a rookie mistake, but I'm glad someone else had the same problem lol