Author Topic: No archive since 2.3f  (Read 6891 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2015, 10:32:39 AM »
it was already discussed on the forum. Of course i would like to have zip format, but it's not that easy. HFS requires archives to be "streams" and "seekable", and that's not easy to make or find.
Don't worry if it can't be done, it was only an idea.

Anyway, I found out that you don't need complex libraries to add .zip support, since Windows can make zip files natively. Using a simple VBS Script, you can make a zip file directly without using any external app. I'm attaching a file about this (to test it, unzip the attachment in "C:\", then make the folder "Test" in "C:\", and put some files to compress there, and the run "MakingZipFile.bat"). Voila!, Windows will make the zip file (C:\SomeArchive.zip). Perhaps this can be useful to HFS in some way...
« Last Edit: December 27, 2015, 10:38:06 AM by LeoNeeson »
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
• I'm open to help and share any file you may need (just ask me) ;)

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 870
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • My HFS Google Drive Shared Link
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2015, 02:00:38 AM »
in regards to zip archiving, I have found it easier to execute a portable 7-zip to "zip" file via a button and the html EXEC template commands, I no longer have the code, but had it working at one time :p

7zip command line stuff
http://superuser.com/questions/545442/7-zip-commandline-how-to-archive-with-subdirectories-or-how-to-keep-folder-str

CMD commands
(tar)
7z.exe a -t7z NewArchivePath PathOfFolderToArchive

(standard 7z)
7z a -r MyArchiveName.7z PathOfFolderToArchive

add it via vba script / hta to your script via leo Thx leo :)
http://www.csidata.com/custserv/onlinehelp/VBSdocs/vbs9.htm
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/17956651/execute-a-command-in-command-prompt-using-excel-vba
http://www.anysitesupport.com/vba-run-a-command-at-the-command-prompt-from-vba/
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 03:23:36 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline click-click

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2015, 01:03:57 PM »
Where are these templates everyone is talking about? Can someone give a step by step example how these are used?
« Last Edit: December 29, 2015, 01:18:24 PM by click-click »

Offline click-click

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2015, 01:16:51 PM »
i tried to reproduce the problem but to no avail.
i created a folder with name $_OEM$ and selected it for archiving: all was well.
can you send me a tar file with the problem?
anyway i tried opening the archive with both 7-zip and total commander.

Hi rejetto, I sent you a PM because the the rar is more the 500kb and I can't append here. I think the problem has to do with .lnk files. If you test with a directory including a few link files along with other files, the archive function gets confused and does strange things. the .lnk files should be treated like any other file. Normal compression programs don't have a problem with .lnk files.

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1890
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2015, 05:46:58 PM »
I think the problem has to do with .lnk files. If you test with a directory including a few link files along with other files, the archive function gets confused and does strange things. the .lnk files should be treated like any other file.


http://superuser.com/questions/77872/how-to-mount-ntfs-folder-in-another-ntfs-folder
http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/hardlinkshellext.html#download

Offline click-click

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #20 on: December 29, 2015, 08:11:13 PM »
I have no idea what you are trying to tell me. What do these links have to do with archiving?   ???
My point was that a .lnk files should get archived like any other file. Standard archivng apps have no problem with these.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2015, 08:20:36 PM by click-click »

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1890
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2015, 09:58:00 PM »
I was as it were on another planet  ;D
I try an experiment with styles linux directory links but under windows  ::)


I see your problem better

when a .lnk file (on HDD) points to a file (real), it appears in the list of files on web and is countable in the TAR archive, but if that link is in a subdirectory, it is not recognized and not included in the final archive

analysing to reproduce from hfs sources,

 see later for new release
« Last Edit: December 30, 2015, 12:15:58 AM by Mars »

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #22 on: January 06, 2016, 11:00:39 PM »
0. guys, as i told you it's not just "creating" the zip. There are other requirements that are very hard to find or make, the ones i listed, but i understand they are hard to understand for non-programmers. Thank you anyway.

1. lnk files are "followed" by HFS, i mean: when you download, you get the linked file, not the link itself.  That's true also for the archive.
I decided to handle it this way as I think most users will expect this, even if in few cases you may want the opposite.
While testing I noticed 2 bugs anyway: the file size displayed in the page was wrong, and inside the archive the path was also wrong. (but no file was missing)

2. i got your files click-click, and it's not a rar, it's a tar, as HFS produces tar, but i guess you just renamed it. Renaming doesn't really change the nature of a file, and some programs recognize the real format even when the name is wrong. Otherwise it would tell you that the file is broken, as it's not a rar.

3. I opened your archive with both total commander and 7-zip, as i don't have winrar, and i see the same list, but it's different from your list, and it is:
81 (folder)
Hold (folder)
Creater.exe

Inside 81 only 1 file: _OOBE.cmd
Inside Hold 2 files: DelayedShutdown.pmc _W8SetScaling.cmd

Then, i don't know if your problem is with winrar, in part at least. Let me know if you test with another software. 7-zip is free and good.
Otherwise I still don't understand what's causing your problem.
I guess the best option for me to understand your problem is
a) make a folder and put files/links in a way that causes the problem, but with few files. The less the better.
b) make a zip of such folder and send it to me.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 06:03:26 PM by rejetto »

Offline click-click

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No archive since 2.3f
« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2016, 02:46:19 PM »
The selections file is the file created by HFS. It is a tar file and I must have uploaded it as a rar. The zip file is the actual folder that I tried to archive for you to test with. I'm pretty sure all this is being caused by HFS trying to follow the link during the archive. The _OOBE.lnk points to Z:\$W8i\$_OEM$_81\_OOBE.cmd, the _DelayedShutdown.lnk points to
C:\Toolbx\MacroCreator.exe Z:\$All\$_OEM$\DelayedShutdown.pmc -s and the __W8SetScaling.lnk is pointing to
Z:\$All\$_OEM$\_W8SetScaling.cmd. If you look at the paths of each link, you will see parts of them that ended up in the tar.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2016, 12:29:25 PM by click-click »