Author Topic: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)  (Read 4853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ivominchev

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« on: August 05, 2015, 10:54:33 AM »
I was with legal Win7. Everything was working fine. Recently I updated to Win10 and the HSF cannot start on port 80. I need it to be at that port in many reasons.

It is working on other ports now (for example 8000), but I need it in 80. Please HELP!!!

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 797
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2015, 06:36:49 PM »
when i did the upgrade, i too found remains of a "c:\inetpub", widows 10 installed and use ISS to get things setup and working, thee remains form that as ISS uses port 80 by default is the issue... try changing hfs port number, if it works, then we need to edit port forwarding in the router

to be public ip > port 80 to  HFS ip > new hfs port
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline ivominchev

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2015, 07:06:47 PM »
Sorry but I don't understand how to solve the problem. Can you please explain again in a bit easier?

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 797
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2015, 08:53:52 PM »
HFS chge port TO 9323 or any number you want that is not port 80

in router port forwarding (also called nat)
dependign on routers incoming port 80 to now 9323 or the number you chose...

http://canyouseeme.org/
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline ivominchev

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2015, 08:31:31 AM »
What I did was to disable the W3SVC (World Wide Web Publishing Service) and now it is OK.
Thanks.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 514
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2015, 11:09:40 AM »
Thanks for posting your solution here, it may help some future user with the same problem.
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
• I'm open to help and share any file you may need (just ask me) ;)

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2016, 04:59:44 AM »
Although the topic is old, here's one addendum: Port 80/443 might also be blocked by the Skype application.
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 514
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2016, 08:28:09 AM »
Although the topic is old, here's one addendum: Port 80/443 might also be blocked by the Skype application.
That's right. To avoid Skype grabbing port 80/443, we should uncheck the option “Use port 80 and 443 for additional incoming connections” in the Skype settings. This applies not only to Windows 10, but to XP, Vista, 7, 8, etc.
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
• I'm open to help and share any file you may need (just ask me) ;)

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12904
    • View Profile
Re: Port 80 cannot be open (After update to Win 10)
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2016, 07:57:03 PM »
yes. HFS tries to tell you the name of the application using the port.