Author Topic: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!  (Read 11089 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« on: April 11, 2015, 03:21:59 PM »
I'm having a speed issue with those connecting to my http file server.
Version 2.3d
Fios
Dynamic IP
Dns address
Static lan addressing
All wan - intranet speed tests are showing 59 Mb/s download & 62 Mb/s upload.
Hard wired lan/router 10/100 set at 100.
Port 80 is open in both directions not throttled by provider.
Connection via wan - intranet = 160 KB/s downloads.
hfs screen showing 160 KB/s going out.
Lan connection speeds are absolutely off the charts.
Win7 firewall allowances in/out on 80 to static addressed lan server.

I've read everything & scanned all speed related posts for the last 8 years.
What am I missing? (scratching head for a while now)

Thanks

 


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 789
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2015, 01:26:34 AM »
sounds like a bandwidth issue form ISP?...(internet service provider?)
*some not all ISP limit http traffic...

http://www.speedtest.net/

*run a test...
what is you upload allotted (that is the conection that the HFS server side user are on and using...)

*Try changing the port on which hfs connects.

Windows firewall should be allowing the Program, not the port!...
Windows 7 Firewall port 80 is meant for Iss...

http://www.codeproject.com/Tips/365704/Install-IIS-on-Windows

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11238830/how-to-enable-world-wide-services-http-in-the-firewall-using-command-line
« Last Edit: April 13, 2015, 12:52:15 AM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2015, 06:16:23 AM »
I'm having a speed issue with those connecting to my http file server.
Version 2.3d
You may try to update HFS to v2.3e, and using another port, like 443 (even if you are no using SSL).

May be your ISP is throttling your internet connection too. You may take a test here:
Code: [Select]
http://www.howtogeek.com/165481/how-to-test-if-your-isp-is-throttling-your-internet-connection/
• HFS ahora también disponible en Español! (Clic aqui) :)
• HFS is now also available in Spanish! (Click here)

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2015, 01:34:01 PM »
Leo:
Updated to 2.3e
No throttling issue.
See speed test pic also.


bmartino1:
Exception for hfs in firewall.
Wan test from outside reports port not open to lan addy,  when hfs starts it reports port open.

Your links refer is to IIS. Is this necessary for hfs to operate at high speed?

Thanks
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 06:56:35 PM by fdiskMBR »

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 789
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2015, 07:50:15 PM »

bmartino1:
Exception for hfs in firewall.
Wan test from outside reports port not open to lan addy,  when hfs starts it reports port open.

Your links refer is to IIS. Is this necessary for hfs to operate at high speed?

Thanks

Thank you for the picture for speed test, you have plenty of bandwidth for upload to host a sever.

*No, Iss is not need for HFS. I post thoses links as refferences for iis and the colation with firewall port 80...

When you first launch HFS, a firewall message should appear asking the program for firewall permission...
I believe you are on a public network, so the program needs public and private traffic...

Resources:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/choosing-network-location#1TC=windows-7

win 8:
http://www.7tutorials.com/change-location-network-private-public-windows-81

------------------------------

?? lan addy... is hfs set to receive traffic form all ips ie: 0.0.0.0 ???
and is  your router port forward re setup to the correct port for HFS?

try to run hfs as administrator.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2015, 09:38:41 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2015, 02:23:16 AM »
Quote > When you first launch HFS, a firewall message should appear asking the program for firewall permission...
I believe you are on a public network, so the program needs public and private traffic...

looks like private - public
Open firewall in and out with exceptions see pic

Quote > ?? lan addy... is hfs set to receive traffic form all ips ie: 0.0.0.0
No, only static lan hfs machine address

Quote > and is  your router port forward re setup to the correct port for HFS?
Port 80

Like I said, I'm missing something but can't put my finger on it.

*I have found something interesting. Since I've updated to v2.3e and am able to allow multiple file downloads at once,
the combined client download of 3 files at once is much more than 3 times faster than a single file download. 700-800 combined for 3 files at once from 3 separate wan addresses.  o0
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 02:54:16 PM by fdiskMBR »

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 789
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2015, 04:03:31 PM »
huh... well, i'm just about stumped, are you at least able to connect to the server as it is?
everything you've posted, and the settings are correct...

*at this point, is HFS up and runing where you can connect to it?

SO, are you still experiencing a speed issue, but able to connect?

how big is the file you are serving?
i see in a previous pic that it is an cd rom ISO image.

it might be a HFS issue with serving large files...
in PHP here are possible solutions...
HFS doesn't native-ly support php, but can marco template (such as FHFS)to launch it

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/432713/serving-large-files-with-php

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8600843/serving-large-files-with-high-loads-in-django

*I would have you look into this website to double check windows GPO settings:
http://www.rushinformation.com/how-to-boost-and-increase-your-internet-speed/
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 04:07:05 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2015, 03:58:56 PM »
huh... well, i'm just about stumped, are you at least able to connect to the server as it is?
everything you've posted, and the settings are correct...

*at this point, is HFS up and runing where you can connect to it?
I only put it up as needed

SO, are you still experiencing a speed issue, but able to connect?
Yes

how big is the file you are serving?
i see in a previous pic that it is an cd rom ISO image.
Most are 600mb + zips BUT even smaller files have the same speed issue.

it might be a HFS issue with serving large files...
I don't think so otherwise the smaller files would be faster
in PHP here are possible solutions...
HFS doesn't native-ly support php, but can marco template (such as FHFS)to launch it

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/432713/serving-large-files-with-php

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8600843/serving-large-files-with-high-loads-in-django

*I would have you look into this website to double check windows GPO settings:
http://www.rushinformation.com/how-to-boost-and-increase-your-internet-speed/

I'll look at the links you mentioned for the illusive solution  ???
Thanks

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2015, 08:07:31 AM »
How about using some "Download Accelerator"? (like the good old "FlashGet", or if you are using Firefox, using the open source extension "DownThemAll!"). After seeing your screenshots, I think that should solve your problem. Just give it a try, and post here the results...

Code: [Select]
http://www.downthemall.net/
Good luck... ;)
• HFS ahora también disponible en Español! (Clic aqui) :)
• HFS is now also available in Spanish! (Click here)

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2015, 03:04:19 PM »
How about using some "Download Accelerator"? (like the good old "FlashGet", or if you are using Firefox, using the open source extension "DownThemAll!"). After seeing your screenshots, I think that should solve your problem. Just give it a try, and post here the results...

Code: [Select]
http://www.downthemall.net/
Good luck... ;)

I've never tried to see if I have a problem downloading from an hfs server from my end.
The issue seems to lie with others downloading from my hfs server from what I can see.

Now if your saying that the  "Download Accelerators" you mentioned would help others to speed their downloads from my hfs server you could be right BUT I have no control over their machines and they would need to install an "accelerator".
That idea also defeats the purpose of using hfs at all. If that were the case, I would just set up an FTP server and have them download a client instead.

If your saying that a "Download Accelerator" will speed up the downloads from my hfs server to those connecting to it, I'll gladly try it ;)

Can you be a little more specific?
Thanks.

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2015, 04:36:42 AM »
A "Download Accelerator" it's a "client" thing, not a "server" thing. You don't have to install a "Download Accelerator" in your server, it's "who" downloads files from you, that should install it.

I'm 90% sure this it's a ISP issue. "ISPs often employ deep packet inspection (DPI)", so, your SpeedTests will always have awesome speeds, but then, when you use a "bandwidth intensive application, such as a server, [your ISP] might limit, or throttle, the rate at which it accepts data" (explanation taken from Wikipedia). For example, Verizon (and other ISP), often do this.

Your best bet, it's trying another application, and see the results. You may try another HTTP server, or any other program, like FileZilla (FTP). Try sharing files over FTP using FileZilla, and see if it's working better.

Code: [Select]
https://filezilla-project.org/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bandwidth_throttling#Application
« Last Edit: April 18, 2015, 04:42:40 AM by LeoNeeson »
• HFS ahora también disponible en Español! (Clic aqui) :)
• HFS is now also available in Spanish! (Click here)

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 789
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2015, 11:41:25 PM »
IF you are the client(test machine to download / test HFS) person as well, the lan machine might only be open to a download connection limit of 3-5 MBs... some routers to handle the bandwidth limit this connection... so you ISP is giving you a upload of 50 x MBs, but your router can only handle as example 10 Mbs upload... that also might be the issue here...

To continue on with what Leo means is to install this software on a client(a machine that is connecting to your machine to download, or something simlar to this software get the files from HFS...

https://www.internetdownloadmanager.com/

there have been problem reports and threads with issues with accelerators and this software working with HFS...

Try to DMZ the IP for the machine hosting HFS (less secure, but sometimes is a router limit workaround...

the only other option/last thing i can think of is your nic/networking devfices are using ethernet 10 MBs, not gigabit 1000Mbs....
with a connection form "verizon fiber optic", you should be using gigabit routers/switches... is there is an Ethernet switch in between, them? the clients/upload would then be liited to a max at the Ethernet speed...

also, a clint could have poor download connection to get file...
« Last Edit: April 19, 2015, 04:26:06 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2015, 07:09:34 PM »
Leo:
I'm thinking I'll give filezilla a shot after I try Bmartino1's suggestion to DMZ the server.

bmartino1:
Didn't even cross my mind to DMZ the server ip.  :o  That should eliminate any routing issues.
The nic is a gigabit but set to 100 because of the router The router is 10-100.
Everything is on cat5e. It hasn't been tested @ 1000. From what I understand, it should handle it.
More than half the lan is on a switch (dynamic), while the server(s) and a few other work horses are static. Some of the machines have 10-100 nic's and a few have gigabit nic's. The work horses of course.

I was about to call and update to a gigabit router BUT than I stumbled across 46 pages of............
https://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Verizon-FIOS-Router-Actiontec-MI424WR-GEN3I-Issue-Dropped/td-p/668969
Maybe I'll wait a while for gigabit (scans over 46 pages) and just see what I can do with what I have that at least somewhat works. 

Thanks for the tips, I'll give them a try and post with results.

Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 789
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • none - google translate
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2015, 11:16:21 PM »
Goign over DMZ, t depends on the router...:
see DMZ host...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMZ_%28computing%29

*Some home routers refer to a DMZ host... You want to becareful if you use it on the lan, as some routers DMZ will elt you see it, but not comunicate to it...

example:
client > internet > ISP mode > Router > DmZ > HFS server machine

will work, but depending on router....

isp modem > rotuer > lan machine (ping DMZ IP)

Router > DMZ (is it on the same subnet? is it allowed access?) > HFS server machine blocked transmission due to DMZ..../or Connected to HFS Server machine...

Cool, well, i though i would post some helpful stuff for the FTP server...
----------------------Filezila and HFS hybrid----------------------
and/or you can use FHFS...
http://www.rejetto.com/forum/fhfs/version-2-0-0-release-download/

FHFS download:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/fhfs/files/2.0.x/2.0.0/
-------------------------------


FTP server:
https://filezilla-project.org/download.php?type=server

in a webpage, you can still use a browser for ftp / or even windows explorer...
example:
ftp:\\192.168.1.x\folder
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 08:00:25 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline fdiskMBR

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Routers & ports firewalls - Oh, my!
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2015, 09:41:19 PM »
It would seem that I will be able to allow an individual static address DMZ even though it's on the lan.
I understand your subnet insinuation also but from what I've read there shouldn't be any issue.

We'll see..........
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 09:44:22 PM by fdiskMBR »