Author Topic: Website Domain - Resets to IP  (Read 2796 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline almulder

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Website Domain - Resets to IP
« on: May 30, 2013, 09:38:23 PM »
Under Admin Console, Other Installation Settings, Domain Name.
 
I have been trying to set my Domain name, but it keeps resetting back to the external-IP after I save settings.

Thoughts on how to fix?

Is there a special format the domain has to be in.

Example, I'm am using this format: home.servername.com

Ver 2.0.5

Thanks

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Website Domain - Resets to IP
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 09:23:05 PM »
Hi,

Is your domain just a redirect to your local server??
In that case your local IP number is the right choice ofcourse...

Offline almulder

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Website Domain - Resets to IP
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 10:54:45 PM »
Yes its a redirect, are not all Domain names just that. They Direct you to the correct it even if that IP changes. So what it the purpose of this field then?

Offline raybob

  • Moderator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
    • FileSplat.com
Re: Website Domain - Resets to IP
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 07:05:15 PM »
The purpose for the field is to create fully-qualified links.

I'm not sure why your input is being reset.  Does it do it immediately or only after a server restart?

Offline dennisymb

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Website Domain - Resets to IP
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2013, 08:35:11 AM »
it immediately redirect to external-IP too