Author Topic: HFS stopped working  (Read 1926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
HFS stopped working
« on: January 25, 2013, 02:35:52 PM »
Hi,

Today I rebooted my server-PC, restarting HFS.
But HFS stops working on loading VFS files.

Tried:
- replaced my vfs file with a backup one       >> no result
- downl. hfs.exe from website (but that 's an old one, filesize is much lower as 2.82)      >> no result
- replaced the hfs.exe with my backupped 2.82 version     >> no result
- did check the ini file, couldn't find any errors (with my "knowledge"about it)   >> no result

Any more tips what to check etc. are welcome!!

jannuh

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 03:53:03 PM »
Maybe I already found out what the problem is:
did yesterday de-install and install .Net Framework

Seems that it didn 't install allright; I'm now checking/re-installing it.

Does use HFS the .NetFramework???

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 08:37:55 PM »
The re-installing of .Net did not change anything  :-(

Still stops on loading VFS files.
Anyone any help?

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2013, 02:08:49 PM »
hfs doesn't use .net

you can send me your vfs privately and i'll check it: send to support@rejetto.com

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2013, 02:35:07 AM »
done

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2013, 09:05:37 PM »
do you have any antivirusprogram running on your server?
if so try to dissable it and try again.

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2013, 01:51:28 AM »
do you have any antivirusprogram running on your server?
if so try to dissable it and try again.
Disabled AV software (Avira) but without result, HFS freezes on reading the VFS file.
Thanks for your idea anyway.

As latest software I installed Netlimiter (V3) on the server PC, did exit the NetLim.software for a try, no result.

Offline crazyboris

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2013, 05:25:23 PM »
avira is still running in the background even if you dissable it.
ad hfs.exe to exclude list

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2013, 06:47:58 PM »
avira is still running in the background even if you dissable it.
ad hfs.exe to exclude list
Did exclude it in Avira when installing HFS months ago as most AV scanners give a virus warning on hfs.
Sent the vfs file to Rejetto, maybe that gives a clue later on, as Rejetto is moving at the moment.

But thanks anyway.


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2013, 01:27:46 PM »
the only problem found with your file is that HFS is extremly slow at loading it.
try with build #283.

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2013, 02:27:33 AM »
I downloaded build 283, but get V2.2f-build 283; file is much smaller then my actual hfs.exe, which is v2.3 build 282
-  759.808 hfs_bld282.exe
-  572.928 hfs_bld283.exe

Replaced back my build 282 exe file and indeed hfs starts after a long loading time for the vfs file, this lasts several minutes
where it seems that HFS has hung up itself, but actual several minutes later HFS start as it should...

Offline raybob

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
    • FileSplat.com
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2013, 06:47:50 PM »
It's way smaller because sometimes Rejetto chooses to compress the exe, sometimes not. 

Offline jannuh

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stopped working
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2013, 12:31:36 AM »
Thanks Raybob, your answer did lead me in the right direction!!

D/L from the HFS website, that's V2.2f bld 155, now d/l from the link in the 283 topic in this forum.

With the bld 283 my problem is solved, HFS running fine and starting much faster as before,
loading the vfs file is now seconds instead of minutes...

Thanks to all who did give info & help