Author Topic: Testing build #164  (Read 10775 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KalleB

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2007, 08:28:33 PM »
i like this asymmetry.
I'm sorry to hear that :( This asymmetry hurts my eyes like hell.. :D
Please at least make the heavy lines a bit thinner, you can still keep the dots :P

a button that looks like another thing may mislead the user. (usability matter)
The other buttons in the HFS page look more like this my "etsi" button...for example the old "Login" button and the new ".: Menu :."...they all have this 2D look, the default 3D-button doesn't go with the overall page style I think.

Offline maverick

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 1052
  • Computer Solutions
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2007, 08:50:28 PM »

The nice thing about HFS is that you can customize the template so that it meets your personal preferences. 
maverick

Offline KalleB

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #17 on: December 19, 2007, 10:30:17 PM »
Indeed.. But with the possibility to translate the template coming up, I'd like to input my own thoughts about the default style. You see I translated and also re-styled the previous default template into my own template but the new one seems to have changed so much that I'd have to do all that all over again...and I think I'll just try to live with the new default one ...but some things in it are just too much not to my taste and I hope rejetto would agree with me about them :D

Offline TSG

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2007, 04:51:21 AM »
I don't like the default template, purple isn't my colour lol, but it is just a default template, make your own if you don't like it. That's why I design my own.

Translation wont effect the default stylesheet, just the text.

KalleB has a point, as a web designer, the default template is terrible now :-X If you like I can make a new default template for HFS. Something like my new one, but without the images and extras, a very cut down version of it.

Imagine this cut right down to basics. It is also valid xHTML (especially if I take it down to a default template). Something the default template isn't :D
« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 05:59:52 AM by TSG »

jerome

  • Guest
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #19 on: December 20, 2007, 08:24:27 AM »
your templates are very good, it could be included or joined by default ...


just passing to say this is the second time i crash a drive where HFS was installed...+ upload not filtered real folder
and few other folders.

defrag the external USB drive during the HFS run kill the MFT. even with 100Go free.
now the drive is dead. ( one year old only )       

defrag used : MST defrag on XP familly 32bit.

the first time i was thinking of a windows bug .... but now i am a bit suspicious about HFS MFT use.
maybe  i am wrong but i will be over careful on clean HFS folder during the HFS run.
i crashed 2 external new drives only since i use HFS on it.

did someone else have drive joke using it, or it is only me ?? and my windows machine.

Offline bacter

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 682
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #20 on: December 20, 2007, 09:52:17 AM »
jerome

it's not safe to defrag the MFT of a drive while aplications running have open files with exclusive access. You should only do so when booting.

See also:

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/FileAndDisk/PageDefrag.mspx

HFS doesn't access directly your hardware, everything is done through windows-api. So your problem is caused by lousy windows-system, not by hfs! If some special defragmenter may work on internal drives, perhaps they don't through the slow USB connection.
your computer has no brain - use your own !

jerome

  • Guest
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #21 on: December 20, 2007, 01:08:01 PM »
usually to access the system exclusive access....
i use 2 system on the same machine( one small alone only for secu ) to access and defrag the other system files and reconstruct the page file.

i will not make it again .... and try another defrag       thank you microsoft             
maybe it can prevent other users to be careful on clean multi task.


waiting to see 165

i have custom the search to open it in a new window...+ absolute position and comments.
i check some alternative codes and macro on it
Code: [Select]
<!-- custom search - absolute position - from this folder - open a new window-->

<div id="search" style="position: absolute; overflow:hidden; WIDTH: 400px; HEIGHT: 24px; LEFT: 700px; TOP: 65px">
<FORM action="" method=get target=_blank>
<input name=search size=10 value="{{urlvar|?search|get}}">
<INPUT type=submit value={{!search}}> </FORM>
</div>

<!-- custom search comment - absolute position -->

<div id="comment" style="position: absolute; overflow:hidden; WIDTH: 300px; HEIGHT: 80px; LEFT: 705px; TOP: 90px">
From here + new window</br>
for logged users ...
</div>

<!-- custom user logo - absolute position -->

{{if| %user% |
<div class=button style="position: absolute; overflow:hidden; WIDTH: 100px; HEIGHT: 24px; LEFT: 700px; TOP: 40px"><img src="/~img27" /> {{!user}}: %user%</div>
/if}}
{{if| {{get|can recur}} |
/if}}

<!-- custom end -->

it can be useful

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1876
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #22 on: December 20, 2007, 01:54:23 PM »
Quote
<input name=search size=10 value="{{urlvar|?search|get}}">


           value="{{urlvar|search}}"   or  value="{{?search}}"    is correct
   
Quote
WIKI:

urlvar | A
url variable. Let's say in the url you see ?sort=s and you want to know that s, just use the macro urlvar|sort.

?A expands to, urlvar | A


NOT urlvar | A | B

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12945
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #23 on: December 20, 2007, 03:59:25 PM »
You see I translated and also re-styled the previous default template into my own template but the new one seems to have changed so much that I'd have to do all that all over again...and I think I'll just try to live with the new default one ...

i think the way is to make the default template customizable without touching it.
so you will keep up to date.
that's the way i'm walking. ;)
suggest what you want to change.
About style, i already solved that, just wait for next beta.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12945
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #24 on: December 20, 2007, 04:05:26 PM »
the first time i was thinking of a windows bug .... but now i am a bit suspicious about HFS MFT use.

HFS does nothing with the MFT. I don't even know how to.
If your MFT is screwed while using a defragger, it makes no sense to think HFS did it.

Offline MarkV

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #25 on: December 20, 2007, 04:29:32 PM »
@ jerome

You should read that article from Microsoft.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/941715/en

There is a bug in the Windows Defrag API. Your drive may suffer from that bug. Though it's mentioning SATA, USB may also be concerned. Every Defragger uses the FSCTL_MOVE_FILE API function.
http://worldipv6launch.org - The world is different now.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12945
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #26 on: December 20, 2007, 05:19:25 PM »
kalleb, consider putting your translation as diff template in the root, for now.
if anyone has a better idea...

Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #27 on: January 01, 2008, 04:06:24 AM »
special:begin isn't working in user defined sections.

Under [special:begin] I placed "test" and "test" appears at the very top of the page when I load the root and sub folders but it doesn't appear when I load a user created section.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12945
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #28 on: January 01, 2008, 05:22:07 PM »
you mean by the browser at address /~user-section ?

Offline Foggy

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 806
    • View Profile
Re: Testing build #164
« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2008, 12:19:42 AM »
yes

Edit: Just had a thought, it probably inst supposed to work in user created sections because for the most part they are supposed to be static html pages. It only just occurred to me because I was creating the section with macro's.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2008, 12:22:15 AM by Foggy »