Author Topic: Noob Help  (Read 1505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gator

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Noob Help
« on: August 09, 2007, 02:33:20 AM »
I have setup everything But im unable to go to my website useing my ip. I have a dyamic Ip. I went to port forward and got my static IP information. This is a screenshot of what My dos box look liked.
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/360/dosboxfs0.png

Than I entered the information into my IP settings... here is a screen shot of that.
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/5039/untitledfz9.png
Than I configured my router to allow port 8080 and here is a screen shot of that.
http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/9427/routersv4.png

I think I have done everything right..Maybe you guys can help me...Maybe I missed something?

Offline TSG

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs
Re: Noob Help
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 02:47:00 AM »
ye, you seem to have achieved everything... you do realise you cannot test your server with your own external IP, you will get an error, you require and external person to test, or use the hfs Self Test... its in the menu... you can only test internally through your network ip followed by the port, and http://127.0.0.1:8080, or http://localhost:8080.

I attempted to test with your IP address followed by :8080 *i can see your ip as an admin*, seems your hfs is offline?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 02:49:34 AM by That_Stevens_Guy »

Offline gator

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Noob Help
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 03:12:42 AM »
alrite I turned it on.. my ip just switched..its
207.224.71.200

Offline Tuskenraider

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Noob Help
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 03:55:37 AM »

Than I configured my router to allow port 8080 and here is a screen shot of that.
http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/9427/routersv4.png


you know just a thought but i have a linksys router also... a wrtg54c and port 8080 is the default out of lan access for the router..    make sense? so maybe thats whats hampering your hfs.... just a thought... idk its late and i maybe off base.. lol

tuskenraider
pfffssshhh i dont need a signature...

Offline gator

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Noob Help
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 04:01:19 AM »
Ok, so basicly your saying just change the port?
Also..Could this have anything to do with my modem.. My modem has a option to forward ports. I can post a screen shot of it if you guys want.

Offline TSG

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
    • View Profile
    • RAWR-Designs
Re: Noob Help
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2007, 10:46:54 AM »
you must forward your port to the host computer. think of it like creating a pathway through your network.

for example. 'external ip:100' to 'internal ip:100' and tell HFS to listen on Port: 100

make sure your computer has a static internal ip address.

then use the Self Test with HFS to see if it is working.

later on you can apply for a dynamic dns service so you have a static address to give users. you will also need to configure an ip updating service, but first lets get access to the server :P