Author Topic: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name  (Read 1149 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« on: January 24, 2019, 05:33:27 PM »
Hello,

I have a strange problem with HFS 2.3m.
On my windows system I can access HFS with the following URLs:

http ://localhost
http ://<host> (onle the first part of the hostname)
http ://<ip address>

But when I enter the whole hostname including the domain like <host.domain1part.domain2part.com> it doesn't work.

http ://<host.domain1part.domain2part.com>
is not working.

DNS is able to resolve the full name.
In the HFS window I see that a connection is established but it looks like there is no answer from HFS for whatever reasons.
The browser tries again and again.
I see that new connections are established again and again.

What do I miss here?
Is there some setting in HFS which is needed for the full hostname?

I have tried different browsers like Firefox 64.0.2 and Internet Explorer 11.
But it is not working with the full hostname.

Thanks.

Regards,
Gagome

Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1878
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2019, 09:05:50 PM »
http://rejetto.com/forum/index.php?topic=5881.msg1034820#msg1034820

You have to use an external proxy server  to connect you to your DNS name

https://www.proxynova.com/proxy-server-list/

« Last Edit: January 24, 2019, 09:11:40 PM by Mars »

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2019, 09:54:04 PM »
Sorry, but I don't understand.
Why should I have to use an external proxy server to connect to HFS?

I am working on my windows system where HFS is installed and is running.
From exactly this windows system I open a browser and access HFS.

http ://localhost works
http ://<shorthostname> works
http ://<ip address> works

http: //<longhostname> doesn't work (why??)

When I do:

ping <shorthostname> it resolves to <ipaddress>.
ping <longhostname> it resolves to <ipaddress>.

Both pings give exactly the same IP address. The IP address of my windows system where HFS is running.

Why then is http: //<longhostname> not working? The HFS log window shows that a connection is established. But HFS does then do nothing. It doesn't reply to the connection. And I don't know why.
Why should I use an external proxy on my on system to access HFS with <longhostname>?
There is no external router involved.

Sorry, but this doesn't make any sense to me.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2019, 10:57:28 PM »
very strange.
HFS currently ignores the hostname, it makes no use of it (sadly), so i'd rather say that probably HFS is not the real cause of the problem.
i have no idea, but i would proceed with more tests.
You say that you see the connections established.
What is the "source" ip of the connection?
is the connection dropped?
Is any byte exchanged?
if anything is exchanged, what?
what if i telnet to it, instead of using a browser?
what if i connect from a different computer?
what from a different network?

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2019, 09:21:59 AM »
I found the problem.

When I use the full domain name to make the connection the browser sends a large cookie because part of the domain name matches.
It seems that HFS doesn't like that.
It gets a very large HTTP GET request with the cookie and doesn't answer that.
When I delete all cookies or open a private browsing window with no cookies it works with the full hostname.

When I use only the IP address or the short hostname the browser doesn't send the cookie and it works.

Is there a limit how large the HTTP GET request is allowed for HFS?
Or what can I do to make it work?

Always deleting all cookies is not a useful option.
The problem is that HFS should be available for several other people working on the same network using similar cookies.
I can tell them to only use a private browsing window, but that is a little bit cumbersome. People tend to forget that and then ask me why my server is not working.
It would things make easier if HFS would simply ignore the cookie no matter how large it is.

I have attached the HTTP GET request where I have blacked (or whited) the cookie data to avoid sending any sensitive information.
You can then get a glimpse of the problem.

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2019, 11:34:00 AM »
Hello,

Any idea?

Is there a limit how large the HTTP GET request is allowed for HFS?
Can this be configured somewhere?
Is there some setting in HFS that any cookie will be ignored?

Thanks.


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 848
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • My HFS Google Drive Shared Link
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2019, 08:45:12 PM »
The get file little it doesn't have a set amount with w get you use the no closer options. Same trigers on w get uses other option for no cookie...

Id have to search the fourm, but there is a way to remove the cookie for the folder via macro, but the folder won't be able to have iser logon or other account data along with other function from jfs/templates that use the cookie.

It's a networking issues due to full domain name. I can only guess that the header is doubled due to how your connection go down and to hfs...

O would bind hfs to a static IP and verify networking property, before editing the header.

All web browser use a form of w get to get there main content.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2019, 12:12:45 PM by bmartino1 »
I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
thank you for your time and patience,
Bmartino1

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 579
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2019, 01:16:10 AM »
I found the problem. When I use the full domain name to make the connection the browser sends a large cookie because part of the domain name matches. It seems that HFS doesn't like that. It gets a very large HTTP GET request with the cookie and doesn't answer that.
There was another user with a similar problem, here. The solution was posted by rejetto here (you need to make a 'HFS.Events' text file, with the content posted on that post and remember, that the file must be named exactly as "HFS.Events", not as "HFS.Events.txt").

Please report back the results if that solved your problem. ;)
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
• I'm open to help and share any file you may need (just ask me) ;)

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2019, 01:37:57 PM »
I have now created the file HFS.Events and put it in the same directory of hfs.exe.
The content of HFS.Events:

Code: [Select]
[+download]
{.remove header|ETag.}
{.remove header|Set-cookie.}
[+request]
{.remove header|ETag.}
{.remove header|Set-cookie.}

And then I have restarted hfs.

But the problem is not solved.
When I use the full domain name hfs doesn't answer because the HTTP GET request is to large.

Did I miss something?

Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 579
  • Solitario...
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2019, 01:59:10 PM »
That's weird. You better wait a reply from Rejetto (currently on holidays) or Mars about this (as they know more than me about this), just be patient (and keep an eye on the forum until they reply).
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
• I'm open to help and share any file you may need (just ask me) ;)

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2019, 01:54:29 PM »
I'm sorry I didn't answer before but I'm on a 3weeks travel. The problem may be with the size of the request. I'm not sure, as I'm not at the computer right now. It would be useful for you'd send me the full request privately to a@rejetto.com
Anyway I hope to come with further information soon, as I'm returning to the hotel.

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2019, 07:01:57 PM »
I have sent the full HTTP GET request to your e-mail address.
I believe it is to large and that is the reason why HFS doesn't answer.
It would be great if you find a solution that HFS ignores the large cookie.

Thanks.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2019, 02:00:05 PM »
i thought i had replied on this, but apparently the "draft" was lost.

HFS 2.3 has a limit of 16KB for each request that is made.
I will increase to 128KB for HFS 2.4, next release.
I'll try to publish it soon, stay tuned, but probably next week.

I don't see a solution with 2.3, tho.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 02:03:22 PM by rejetto »

Offline Gagome

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2019, 04:11:37 PM »
Hello Rejetto,

I got your reply from my e-mail. And I have sent you my answer:

The hang on "requesting" is exactly the problem which I am experiencing.
I see a connection is established and then "requesting" and then nothing.
There is no answer from HFS.



Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *
  • Posts: 12949
    • View Profile
Re: HFS is not working with hostname plus domain name
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2019, 03:40:53 PM »
ok, the problem has nothing to do with the size.
There's a bug with "empty" cookies.
Fixed in next release: 2.4rc2