rejetto forum

Software => HFS ~ HTTP File Server => Beta => Topic started by: FTNCmedia on October 17, 2011, 04:00:38 AM

Title: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 17, 2011, 04:00:38 AM
Hi All,

I am using the 275 build to run a media server. After a fresh new install of Windows 7 Ultimate, 8GB RAM, HFS 2.3 #275, and 48hrs of running I received the error " Out of Memory". I have had 200,000 Total Hits, 1800 downloads, and 800GB out. Is it just too busy? Is there a way to increase the memory used?
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 17, 2011, 11:59:34 AM
1. how many times did it happen?
2. check how much memory is actually HFS using on the task manager
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 17, 2011, 01:41:53 PM
Thank you for getting back to me so fast Rejetto...

1. how many times did it happen?
twice in a 12 hr period
2. check how much memory is actually HFS using on the task manager
232,000K!
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it
(I did the debug>show mem...so now what is the magic 'crash' number that I should be worried about?)

Thx again. Other than this issue, this program is great and easy to use. I love it and I had tried about 10 different programs trying to mimic what you have done here and no one comes close! :)

Also, I found out if you want certain things to not run in the background like .Net compilers and such , loop a song over and over on mute (if you want) and that will keep the idle services from running and taking up 90-100% of the CPU. I am sure you already knew this but thought it may be helpful for others to read. Thx again! 
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 17, 2011, 05:29:27 PM
i got this "out of memory" to many times.
is your .vfs (file systemfile) file removed when this happend?
or does this only happend to me?
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 17, 2011, 05:39:51 PM
@Crazyboris

no my .VFS was still there and loaded fine after I received the "out of memory" notice. Since the last post, I restarted my server and reset the memory back down to normal. It has ran like 2 hrs or so and it is back up to 160,000K. Do you know what number your crashed at?
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 18, 2011, 12:53:20 PM
3. enable Menu > debug > show memory usage, so that you can keep an eye on it
(I did the debug>show mem...so now what is the magic 'crash' number that I should be worried about?)

i don't know that, but now you can make an idea on what events make the ram usage higher.
In case, please report here.
also let me know if this turns out in a recurrent problem.

Quote
Thx again. Other than this issue, this program is great and easy to use. I love it and I had tried about 10 different programs trying to mimic what you have done here and no one comes close! :)

i blush
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 18, 2011, 03:14:16 PM
Ok i guess the real question here is should the memory used just keep climbing "out of control"? I mean even after some of the users log off, the numbers still keep climbing until eventually it runs out of memory. Also, is the memory RAM? ( i know that sounds like a stupid question but I have 16GB of RAM...please tell me that is enough! :o ) Is this condition called a memory leak that I have seen posted on the forum in many places? Thx again for your time. I know you are busy.
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 18, 2011, 04:51:11 PM
yepp it does the same for me.
it just uses more and more memory.
so there is a memory leak in the program.

in last 3-4 min memory usage has gone up by 1.5mb (build 279)
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 18, 2011, 08:12:27 PM
when hfs has taken up alot of memory you can minimize it and the memory usage goes down to about 4-5mb.
then it starts taking more and more memory again.

if its already minimized to tray and still taking more and more memory , open it up and minimize it again and memory usage will go down again.
Title: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 19, 2011, 05:09:13 AM
I still have a memory leak somewhere. I have been restarting it everyday when there are no users on and that has been keeping the memory used low.
@crazyboris..I did the minimize thing and it does clear up some of the memory. How weird is that? lol
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 23, 2011, 12:18:08 PM
things like minimizing depends on how Windows decide to manage memory.
It changes from XP to Seven, and it subjects to many other things.
I think we should focus on the number reported by HFS with "show memory usage".
I need to know how it is behaving. Is it increasing even when no one is accessing the server?
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 23, 2011, 03:49:17 PM
i have windows xp (with all updates)
yes its using more and more memory all the time.
even if there is noone accessing the server.

if i wait to long to eather restart the server or do the minimize thing (that i just found out) the whole computer frezes up. i guess all the ram is used up.
i get up in about 160mb memory use/day , so it builds up slowly.
so about every 8-10 day all memory is used up.

it have 2 gig in ram but windows and other stuff also uses som of the memory.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 23, 2011, 06:40:45 PM
do you use/have "events" ?
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: FTNCmedia on October 26, 2011, 12:20:09 PM
hey guys.

My memory problem is a bit different than crazyboris but I still run out of memory at some point. I found that DEBUG>SHOW MEM USAGE is a great way to monitor (just like you said rejetto) and my "out of memory" problem usually occurs around the 500-700MB range. Now if no one is on the server, my memory usage does NOT go up like crazyboris was saying. I do monitor my RAM usage with the CPU Usage gadget and I sometimes see the RAM usage just climb and climb all the way up to 90-98% real fast then HFS stops responding and in order for me to bring it back down, I have to do a computer restart. This problem does not seem to be related to the Mem Usage by HFS being high. Sometimes it happens at 20M and sometimes at 500M so I dont know what that problem is.

 I used to have a problem with my whole computer freezing up and I would have to do a hard shutdown but I did a fresh install of W7 and that fixed my problem. I also am not running all the programs I used to when it would freeze.

If you have some specific questions you want answered, please list them and I will try and be more specific with my answers and watch out for something that you need to know. Thanks again for this product and I just had a friend look at HFS and he was amazed with it. He writes code and such and was thoroughly impressed with the power of HFS. Good job he said :) 
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 26, 2011, 04:33:02 PM
do you use/have "events" ?
ehhh ??
dont understand.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 27, 2011, 08:31:23 PM
ehhh ??
dont understand.

events scripts.
hit ALT+F6 and see if your file is empty :)
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 27, 2011, 08:35:58 PM
@FTNCmedia
so many things and features are involved in your service through HFS.
My advice is to try to remove (or turn off) one piece at time.
Then you give it enough time to run through your test, and luckily you will find where's the hassle.
Just as a first try, you may want to disable the "archivable" for the whole server. If you didn't touch this flag yet, then remove it from home/root will make it.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 28, 2011, 02:59:46 PM
events scripts.
hit ALT+F6 and see if your file is empty :)
no there is nothing there.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on October 31, 2011, 06:29:32 PM
1. please consider my propositions about "show memory usage"
2. Is it increasing even when no one is accessing the server?
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on October 31, 2011, 06:42:10 PM
i have windows xp (with all updates)
yes its using more and more memory all the time.
even if there is noone accessing the server.

1. using that.
2. yes.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on November 02, 2011, 08:14:50 PM
so, when you say it's increasing without any access, are you referring to the number shown in the HFS' statusbar, or in task manager?
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on November 03, 2011, 04:56:19 PM
so, when you say it's increasing without any access, are you referring to the number shown in the HFS' statusbar, or in task manager?
both.

tested with some old versions to.
on 265 there is no problem.
279 , 275 have this problem for me.
the increase in memory usage is slow when no one is on the server.
is there a idle connection the increase memory usage goes up faster.
and when he goes away the memory usage stays at that level.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: r][m on November 04, 2011, 05:47:05 AM
Just my 2 cents, but I did a bit of testing here on 279 running on
Wine / Ubuntu, and I'm on my lan which is like downloading and
uploading to myself at the same time, but...
I notice my memory usage according to HFS goes up by an unbelievable
amount and stays after the test is finished. My system monitor doesn't
show that, nor does the swap file. Only thing it shows is CPU usage goes up,
then drops back.
What is interesting, is when I exit the folder I downloaded from, memory
displayed by HFS drops back to normal?
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on November 04, 2011, 02:26:45 PM
on 265 there is no problem. 279 , 275 have this problem for me.

it would be wonderful if you could narrow the range.

I tried starting HFS but cannot see any memory increment, so it must be something with your settings. Please try menu>debug>temporarily reset options
and see if the problem disappear.

Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on November 05, 2011, 08:59:50 AM
yes the problem goes away.  :)

when using the orginal hfs template the users is removed from idle.
therefor no increase in ram usage.
i use a RAWR 0,13 template.(modyfied) same thing happends with a orginal RAWR 0,13 template.
when using the rawr template the users still stayes in idle mode , and memory goes up.

tested on 279.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on November 13, 2011, 10:41:37 PM
ok, it's something with the rawr template. This doesn't mean you have to give up with it.
It's likely to be the template triggering a bug in HFS, but potentially it could even be bad coding in the template itself.
I installed the template and made some tests. I found out that by changing language=auto in language=zz the problem disappears.
It must be something to do with language file loading.
I have to stop now, please continue you investigating and let me know something new.
Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: crazyboris on September 25, 2012, 03:02:11 PM
happend again.
i have a new server now.
running windows 2003 server on it.
4 gig ram.
2 dualcore cpu 2000Mhz


i get "out of memory" error.
hfs crashes , and the computer as well.
and my .hfs file is deleted. :(

the server had been up and running for 30 days +.
there was no traffic to the server at the time it happend.
there was traffic about 4-5 min before it happend.

Title: Re: Out of Memory
Post by: rejetto on January 05, 2013, 02:29:34 PM
you may want to make an automatic restart of HFS every 7 days.

my first idea is a batch file with something like
Code: [Select]
:restart
hfs
goto restart

and an event like
Code: [Select]
[every 7 days]
{.exec|hfs -q.}