rejetto forum

Software => HFS ~ HTTP File Server => Topic started by: pcs800 on August 17, 2006, 06:23:32 PM

Title: error message
Post by: pcs800 on August 17, 2006, 06:23:32 PM
I keep getting an error box that comes up with no program name on it. I suspect it is from HFS. It says "Aborted By User", and that's it.
Anyone know what this is or how to get rid of it?
Title: error message
Post by: maverick on August 17, 2006, 08:00:51 PM
What exactly were you doing just before that message popped up?
Title: re
Post by: pcs800 on August 17, 2006, 08:12:34 PM
HFS runs on a file server, so I never see exactly when it pops up since I only look at the server once per day.
But I think there have been user uploads each time it happens.
Even if the upload was successful it seems the next time I look at the file server, the message is there.

Could the HFS installation be corrupt? I attempted to upload a fairly large file a few weeks ago and it stopped half way through. I just restarted the machine and never thought about it again.
Title: error message
Post by: maverick on August 17, 2006, 09:22:56 PM
I just did a test here.  I aborted a HFS upload and didn't see a message like that.  So I'm thinking that message is from another app running in the background.

You also mention that "HFS runs on a file server".  As HFS is a file server by itself it sounds like you are running a file server within another file server.  Is that right?  If so, maybe there is a conflict between the two servers when certain things are done causing that error message.

Also, in HFS (in expert mode) go to Menu -> upload and see what your settings are at.  These settings have nothing to do with that error message but it's a good way to manage duplicate and aborted uploads.  You didn't mention what version of HFS you are running.

You mention that a large upload of your's aborted about half-way through.  How large was that upload?  There are browser limitations -> 2GB for Opera and IE and 4GB for firefox.

Hope any of this helps.
Title: re
Post by: pcs800 on August 17, 2006, 09:51:43 PM
The server acts as a backup/file server. HFS is the only file server app running on it.

The file I was uploading was about 150MB across a gigabit network, so it was moving fast and then choked.

I will check that setting in the menu.

Thanks for the reply.
Title: error message
Post by: rejetto on August 17, 2006, 09:59:48 PM
well, that message is not in any HFS source, so i can say 99% it is not from HFS
Title: re
Post by: pcs800 on August 17, 2006, 10:18:09 PM
Ok, thanks. i will look elsewhere within the server then.