rejetto forum

Adding HFS to Shell context menu

selkov · 33 · 18928

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
I seem to be getting this error:

Monolib error: access is denied

Any Idea WHY?


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
what version are you using?
try killing any HFS process running.
does this problem persist after a reboot?


Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
ACTUALLY IT HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE FROM FIRST INSTALL SOME 6 VERSIONS AGO.

CURRENT INSTALL IS 179

reboot has no effect

try killing any HFS process running. ????


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
ensure you remove all old versions of HFS.
after which action does exactly the message comes up?


Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
I have a clean install of XP with 179 just loaded so there is no old versions on the pc.

the issue happens when i right click the mouse and choose add to HFS


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
try using a version you know it used to work, and tell me if the problem disappears or persists


Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Actually it never worked on this unit.
It does on 2 others.
I assumed it was the OS so as i just reloaded it it is now ruled out.


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
it appears like a permissions problem.
except this, i have no idea.


Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
This is  an issue I think you may need to address better.
I did a search on google under "monolib error" and the first 10 pages I opened were all REJETTO forum links..

Seems this is tied to XP and Rejetto.
I found NO other instances of these issues.......


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
monolib is a lib i made, and it is used only in HFS. so far... all right.

instead, the "access is denied" you are getting is new to me, and as only result on google gives this thread.
(note: this latter part of the message is made by Windows itself, HFS just reporting it)


Offline Yves

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Salut selkov,

i had this problem too. Since i answered to by "No" i do not have this problem any more.

Instead of "Add to HFS" i have put a shortcut of hfs.exe into the folder "SendTo" (Documents and Settings\Administrator\SendTo), named there "- HFS" to make it appear in the first line of "SendTo".

Finally i deleted "Add to HFS" in the Windows registry.

All works fine now.  :)
« Last Edit: March 03, 2008, 08:17:41 PM by Yves »
on http://messenger.yahoo.com as Yves67St and YvesSt67, reachable particularly during european afternoon and evening hours, GMT+1. My servers are online 16/24h and 7/7d.


Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 2059
    • View Profile
To rejetto:  This is a corrective.



About this topic , new code for HFS with functions and procedure in this order

Quote
function integrateInShell():boolean;
......
end; // integrateInShell

procedure disintegrateShell();
....
end; // disintegrateShell

function isIntegratedInShell():boolean;                              // moved
begin
result:=(loadregistry('*\shell\Add to HFS\command', '', HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT) > '')
  and (loadregistry('Folder\shell\Add to HFS\command','',HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT) >'')
  and (loadregistry('.vfs', '', HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT) > '')
  and (loadregistry('.vfs\shell\Open\command', '', HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT) > '');
  if result then
    begin
      integrateInShell();               
// to correct all registry values
      mainFrm.Shellcontextmenu1.caption:='Disable HFS Shell context menu';
    end
  else
    begin
       disintegrateShell();             
// to clear all registry values
       mainFrm.Shellcontextmenu1.caption:='Enable HFS Shell context menu';
    end;

end; // isIntegratedInShell


And verify that:

Shellcontextmenu1.HelpContext=0                  (default is 22)
Shellcontextmenu1.ImageIndex=20                 (default is -1)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2008, 08:33:59 AM by mars »


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
it is a good idea to put a different label for the shell context menu, because the "check" is actually not visible with that icon.
i don't put that integrate commands anyway because it's not a good idea to change the registry at every menu popup.
there's already a "fixing" code at every hfs startup.


Offline selkov

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
"instead, the "access is denied" you are getting is new to me, and as only result on google gives this thread.
(note: this latter part of the message is made by Windows itself, HFS just reporting it)"

Sorry, did not notice that....


Got more info on this for you. Perhaps you can help me figure this out.
I think I have isolated the instance of this issue as well as 1 other. And i believe they are related.

First let me say that i have the same installation on two machines, 1 is XP and 1 is W2k pro. They both behave the same.

here goes....
Main drive is partitioned into 6 parts.
HFS resides on a non bootable partion.

If I select in the HFS menu "Run HFS when windows starts" or if I start it manually the "Add to HFS" is shown as the third option on the context menu in small print. And it works fine. But i am using a prograg called " Firedaemon Pro Service manager [http://www.firedaemon.com/]. The reason I want to use this is it allows me the ability to not only start it with windows but be sure it is always running. If it is shut down accidentally or if it hangs, Firedaemon will restart it. When I run HFS thru firedaemon the "Add to HFS" is now displayed at the top of the context menu on BOLD adn it no longer works. This is when I get the monolib error. 

I also noticed this issue:
When I make changes to HFS [file shares or settings] they save automatically.
But when i start it up in Firedaemon, the file shares are correct, the settings are not.
I need to re-do the changes for them to be in effect.
Also the counter in the icon for #'s of downloads is reset to a different #.

When I set up the parameters in Firedaemon to execute HFS there are two key inputs, the pathe to HFS.exe and the working directory. I think the issue has to do with the path to the working directory.
It does see the .vfs file as it is loading the shared files / folders info, so I am assuming that the other info is stored elsewhere and it is not seeing that.

Do yopu think you might be able to help me figure out what and where it is missing?
I would really like to run this as a service.
 
thanks for all your help.
-Eds


Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 2059
    • View Profile
you can force the working directory by using

<hfs_path>\hfs.exe -i "c:\program files\hfs_working_directory"