rejetto forum

cookie and new files

pstar · 5 · 3176

Offline pstar

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
i'm new to hfs and here is my 2nd question:
could i use cookie to remember how many new files have been uploaded since my last logon?
now what i see from hfs is the function which can set a timer to mark the new files.
but it cant meet my condition.

thx in advance!

Offline bacter

• Operator
  • Tireless poster
    • View Profile
welcome pstar!

Your question is not clear.

1) Cookies are used to store data of ONE user. This means, you could store in each users pc a cookie with the number he uploaded.

2) If i understand the question in the manner, that you login as the boss and want to control how many uploads where done by all users since your las login, then you should not use a cookie, but a counter in s static variable ( #upload_cnt) that will increment with each upload completed, or add for example the filename and user to a list. Then every time you login, you can look at his counter and list and then clear it.

your computer has no brain - use your own !

Offline pstar

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
thx bacter for  your reply.
what i need is something more like your condition 2.
i'm the admin and i wanna know how many new files have been uploaded to some folders every my logon.
the case is not only one folder.
it's also for time saving, if i find no updating to some folders, i dont have to check it by click the folder's name and to see its sub files.

but, could you give me more info on the static variable?
can the variable keep an eye on a special folder and all its sub-folers for file uploading?

thanks, again!

Offline bacter

• Operator
  • Tireless poster
    • View Profile
Hi pstar

here goes one possible solution for your needs. It uses a counter that says how many files were uploaded since last reset, and creates a file you can load to see all new uploads.

1. Include this at the beginning of the [uppload-sucess] section: