rejetto forum

VLC & HFS !?!?!

Offline Spartan4444

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
I just started using hfs along with logmein to view and transfer files wirelessly and for free. Is there anyway you could stream a vlc stream onto a hfs http page just wandering.

I'm sorry What i wanted to do was stream files on my server from vlc and use both programs simultaneously so that i can watch files from my server while not waiting to download them then open them. I use logmein to view my home server instead of other RDP programs but it doesn't include file transfer so thats why i have vlc. I was wanting to make it  to where my friends could upload and download files from my server(Mostly Music).

I just wanted to know if it was possible. I'm just learning html and java maybe after some time ill figure it any input would be awesome though thx
« Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 04:31:13 AM by Spartan4444 »

Offline rejetto

• Administrator
  • Tireless poster
    • View Profile
for your purpose, what is HFS supposed to do exactly?

Offline Kremlin

• Tireless poster
    • View Profile
Apparently he wants to show on his HFS page the stream webpage from LogMeIn (used to view remotely a computer threw the web), at least thats what i understood.

Offline 80063r

• Occasional poster
    • View Profile
Video LAN VLC Player can output streaming  audio or video.  A web page can be made to show the output, but I never looked into doing that.  HFS may have to accept input from the page to control the playback (maybe with the help of command line or another macro program), or HFS would serve a different template when a specific file type was clicked (the easy way).

I'm not sure what would be required it the template though.

see:
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
and:
http://wiki.videolan.org/Documentation:Streaming_HowTo
Posted on: May 22, 2009, 10:02:32 PM
Streaming methods

If you chose Stream to network option, you can now specify the streaming method. Available methods are: