rejetto forum

Account names

smaragdus · 11 · 10710

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline smaragdus

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hello,

I registered to submit an issue.

The last version of HFS which works fine and according to my expectations is 2.3d Build 292. All later versions (2.3e Build 293, 2.3f Build 294 and 2.3g Build 295- I tested them all) are plagued by one common problem- when I try to create a new user name it is capitalized and there is no way to type it in lower case. This is very annoying and I will stick to version 2.3d Build 292 until the issue is fixed- it is cumbersome and unhandy to delete the latest version, replace it with 2.3d Build 292, create an account, then delete it again and use the latest one again.

In my opinion the most important feature which HFS lacks is an option to sign out.

Regards


Offline LeoNeeson

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 842
  • Status: On hiatus (sporadically here)
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/LeoNeeson
Hi, and welcome! :) Thanks for reporting this issue about the username. I confirm the bug, the username is being forced to be capitalized. And about HFS lacking an option to sign out (or logout), it's not directly an HFS issue, since it's a limitation of the "HTTP/1.1" protocol (which HFS uses).

> More info about having a "logout":
Doing a Google search, I did found a possible workaround (here) which suggest "passing wrong credentials (username/password) to the browser, so the browser will try to use the most recently passed credentials, and will forget the previous correct ones, giving the user a new option to login again. This may work fine, until the user just hits the back button in your browser." /That's what they said.

> My own experience/test: I tried it using Firefox, and it does NOT work. It may work with some other browser, but it is unreliable and troublesome. I don't know if passing an invalid 'cookie' does something similar.

So, "logout" is not possible, you have to close your browser.
HFS in Spanish (HFS en Español) / How to compile HFS (Tutorial)
» Currently taking a break, until HFS v2.4 get his stable version.


Offline bmartino1

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 910
  • I'm only trying to help i mean no offense.
    • View Profile
    • My HFS Google Drive Shared Link
agreed here leo, i can confirm that the user are cap...

i posted to some one regarding a way to do "signout stuff"
i've found php (the 1 of many solutions that leo also posted...) better to do that with then the http protcal stuff...

Unfortunaly, HFS done't natively support php, and there talk on the fourm of getting bits and piece working, unsure of how far it went...

the beter one that might be able to work with hfs / is java based:
https://wiki.jasig.org/display/casum/single+sign+out

some where on the forum i wen tin to detail with stuff on how to do this
(programing html code wise, not HFS in the program...) rejetos words to that post was maybe in hfs 3.0

http://www.rejetto.com/forum/hfs-~-http-file-server/old-question-but/msg1059657/#msg1059657
Files I have snagged and share can be found on my google drive:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qb4INX2pzsjmMT06YEIQk9Nv5jMu33tC?usp=sharing


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
i was not aware of this problem.
will fix it soon.


Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 2059
    • View Profile
HI Rejetto, be Happy  ;)

problem fixed by moving code in optiondlg.pas

renamed with low character working,
 when aucountsbox is selected, press a key  a to z select  user in list

Quote
procedure ToptionsFrm.accountsBoxKeyDown(Sender: TObject; var Key: Word;
  Shift: TShiftState);
  var
  s, i, ir, n: integer;
  keychar:char;

begin
if shift = [] then
   case key of
     VK_F2: renaccountBtn.click();
    VK_INSERT: addaccountBtn.click(); // mod by mars
    VK_DELETE: deleteAccount();
    end;
{mod by mars}
if shift = [ssAlt] then
  case key of
    VK_UP: upBtn.click();
    VK_DOWN: downBtn.click();
    end;
{/mod}

{/ accountsBoxKeyPress moved here/} // mod by mars
keychar:=upcase(char(key));
if keychar in ['0'..'9','A'..'Z'] then
  begin
  s:=accountsBox.ItemIndex;
  n:=length(tempAccounts);
  for i:=1 to n-1 do
    begin
    ir:=(s+i) mod n;
    if keychar = upcase(tempAccounts[ir].user[1]) then
      begin
      selectAccount(ir);
      exit;
      end;
    end;
  end;
end;

procedure ToptionsFrm.accountsBoxKeyPress(Sender: TObject; var Key: Char);
var
begin
end;
« Last Edit: October 18, 2015, 09:55:08 PM by Mars »


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
ok, next version will have this sorted out


Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 13510
    • View Profile
ah, sorry mars, we were working at the same time.
i worked on a different solution, having a flag to know when you are editing.
Just out off curiosity: does your solution work well while you are renaming an account? doesn't it search the list while you rename?


Offline Mars

  • Operator
  • Tireless poster
  • *****
    • Posts: 2059
    • View Profile
 every one can download my compiled hfs file at this link to test

http://dl.free.fr/hz8DwZxl4

during editing  sing Maj letters  select another account  without exiting the edit

not good   


new link    http://dl.free.fr/nx1iKWdFB

new version   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Quote
procedure ToptionsFrm.accountsBoxKeyDown(Sender: TObject; var Key: Word;
  Shift: TShiftState);
  var
  s, i, ir, n: integer;
  keychar:char;
begin
if accountsbox.IsEditing then exit;    // mod by mars
if shift = [] then
   case key of
     VK_F2: renaccountBtn.click();
    VK_INSERT: addaccountBtn.click(); // mod by mars
    VK_DELETE: deleteAccount();
    end;
{mod by mars}
if shift = [ssAlt] then
  case key of
    VK_UP: upBtn.click();
    VK_DOWN: downBtn.click();
    end;
{/mod}
{/ accountsBoxKeyPress moved here/}
  keychar:=upcase(char(key));
  if keychar in ['0'..'9','A'..'Z'] then
   begin
   s:=accountsBox.ItemIndex;
   n:=length(tempAccounts);
   for i:=1 to n-1 do
     begin
     ir:=(s+i) mod n;
     if keychar = upcase(tempAccounts[ir].user[1]) then
       begin
       selectAccount(ir);
       exit;
       end;
     end;
   end;
end;
« Last Edit: October 19, 2015, 10:20:51 AM by Mars »


Offline Dave987

  • Occasional poster
  • *
    • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
I'll give it a try.  The odd thing was, not all usernames worked like this.  Some needed to be entered to log in with all caps, others could be entered with or without caps.  I'm still on f, and only one of the four logins I have set must be entered in all caps.  Anyway, I hope this helps.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2015, 09:21:17 PM by Dave987 »



Offline Fysack

  • Tireless poster
  • ****
    • Posts: 598
  • present picture
    • View Profile
    • Admin
hardcore brothers strikes again
GOD CAN READ YOUR MIND